Waldorf Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
The watercress fit beautifully into this wonderful salad. I didn't have any apple juice on hand, so subbed some orange juice and added a touch sugar to balance. I also used one sweet apple and one tart only. The salad looked elegant on the plates and delicious. I think this should be called "Waldorf Watercress Salad" so people can see the special ingredient when just browsing. But anyway a lovely dish. Thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This was good. I didn't think it was too oniony at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I hadn't had Waldorf Salad since I was a kid and what wonderful memories this salad brought back. It was just like I remembered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
excellent. definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This also goes great with craisins or mini marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Yup, had this at family gatherings fairly often when I was a kid so decided to make it for the big family BBQ last weekend. Onions omitted (picky eaters), no celery seed, watercress unavailable and only had pecans on hand (smashing flavor!) and also toasted up some pumpkin seeds for an extra bit of crunch. A big hit! First salad to vanish from the table. A real keeper, this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I wasn't paying attention and accidentally bought some watercress at the grocery store. I did an ingredient search and came up with this recipe, which I had everything on hand for. I've heard of waldorf salad but never tried it, so I was a little sceptical about combining spices and chives with yogurt, mayo, fruit, and this new green leafy thing. Boy am I glad I did! We followed the recipe exactly and it came out GREAT! I'll be buying watercress on purpose from now on just to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
Made this for my family on Thanksgiving. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Flawless recipe - delicious, nutritious & VERY crunchy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Unfortunately, watercress is not available in my community but I substituted with mixed greens. Best Waldorf Salad I've ever had, dressing was a great finish and capped a flavorful treat. Only change I'll make is to add create a thicker dressing but with the same taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States