Waldorf Astoria Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Very easy to make and great tasting frosting. I will definately be making this one again. I didn't have the clear vanilla, so I just used the the regular imitation vanilla. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT!!!! VERY EASY AND DEEEEEEEEELLIOUS THE BEST WHITE FROSTING I HAVE EVER MADE THANKS A MILLION FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Best white frosting I have ever made. Easy to spread and very tasty. I use this for all wedding cakes unless called for fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joycie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
very tasty and hold up to piping. Coloring is easy. I have never been big on "butter" flavoring or imitation vanilla, but they are vital and make this frosting good tasting. Cook's illustrated says imitation vanilla was indistinguishable when used in a recipe. Go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This frosting was the best! The flavor was excellent, the consistancy perfect. It was perfect for cake decorating. I did not have butter flavored extract so I used some butter flavored popcorn salt instead, and the flavor was so good. This will the frosting I use whenever I make a cake now. In fact, I just came back to print the recipe so I will not lose it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I was hesitant to try this recipe, especially after reading the reviews where it was stated the frosting separated. I had no problems w/ the frosting. For those w/ the problem, the only thing I can think of that would make the frosting separate is if you have someone living w/ you who has a habit of drinking milk straight from the jug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Great Frosting for wedding cakes. I read all the other comments and for those who had trouble with seperation. The higher the humidity in the air the more likely frosting will be to seperate. Best prepared in lower humidity conditions. Rainy days are the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Chancey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Bartow, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
its simple yet ellegant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nisha
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I am 12 years old and this is the first homemade frosting I have made. It is very easy to make and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I have made this frosting recipe for years with excellent results. Depending on the amount of humidity in the air and how exact I have been measuring the confectioners sugar, I adjust the amount of milk that I add accordingly. I always start out slow and add it gradually. Sometimes I need less than called for, sometimes more. I typically use almond flavoring, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NHORAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States