Waldorf Astoria Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I am 12 years old and this is the first homemade frosting I have made. It is very easy to make and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT!!!! VERY EASY AND DEEEEEEEEELLIOUS THE BEST WHITE FROSTING I HAVE EVER MADE THANKS A MILLION FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
very tasty and hold up to piping. Coloring is easy. I have never been big on "butter" flavoring or imitation vanilla, but they are vital and make this frosting good tasting. Cook's illustrated says imitation vanilla was indistinguishable when used in a recipe. Go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Great tasting frosting and perfectly white, but I had a major problem with it seperating on me often. I had to mix it a long time twice to get it on the cupcakes. Then I had to refrigerate them to keep the icing from seperating again. I followed the recipe exactly, but I may have done something wrong. Excellent flavor though, no doubt there. I will definitely give it another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Very easy to make and great tasting frosting. I will definately be making this one again. I didn't have the clear vanilla, so I just used the the regular imitation vanilla. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This frosting was horrible. Continually separated, did not taste that great, and was an overall bust. My expectations were pretty high when I read the review beforehand, and I've made frostings that were excellent before, but this just did not crack up to par.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This frosting was the best! The flavor was excellent, the consistancy perfect. It was perfect for cake decorating. I did not have butter flavored extract so I used some butter flavored popcorn salt instead, and the flavor was so good. This will the frosting I use whenever I make a cake now. In fact, I just came back to print the recipe so I will not lose it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. The taste was straight shortening and powdered sugar, even with butter-flavored shortening and extra butter and vanilla extracts. I couldn't fathom why this was so highly-reviewed. However, after adding 1/2+ cup heavy whipping cream and continuing to whip it like crazy, the frosting was wonderful! I highly suggest this addition, unless you want to feel as if you're eating straight shortening and powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I have made this frosting recipe for years with excellent results. Depending on the amount of humidity in the air and how exact I have been measuring the confectioners sugar, I adjust the amount of milk that I add accordingly. I always start out slow and add it gradually. Sometimes I need less than called for, sometimes more. I typically use almond flavoring, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NHORAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Best white frosting I have ever made. Easy to spread and very tasty. I use this for all wedding cakes unless called for fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joycie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States