Wakula's First Attempt at Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
We loved this stew! Excellent flavor! I added some rice leftover from another dish and used only of the potatoes. I also used only 1/2 the amount of cabbage. We will definitely have this as one of our staple soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Fantastic! I have been searching for a good vegetarian stew and this is just what I wanted. I followed the recipe as is and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Robinett
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was great. The cheese was a nice touch to round out a hearty vegetarian meal. I added some turnips to the mix instead of potatoes and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeffrey
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was an awesome stew. I went out of the box & used parsnips instead of potatoes,and used seasoning that I had in the house. Very hearty dish. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
It tried the recipe as is and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Really yummy. I substituted extra cabbage and spinach for the potatoes. I also made my first batch with pinto beans, instead of black beans, which was very tasty. Since I didn't have vegetable stock, I used beef broth, which brought out the flavor in the veggies. I dolloped a bit of French Onion light dip on top with cheese and fresh basil. YUM. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caley022
Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
The flavor is excellent. I added flour to thicken it up a bit, a dash of cumin and used organic chicken broth instead of vegetable, since it was what I had handy. I think that next time I make it I will decrease by a potato, add a carrot, can of kidney beans and a can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made this as per the recipe except cooked it a little longer and made bisquick dumplings on top. Even if you are not a vegetarian, this is an excellent, hearty dinner on a cold winter night! Deeeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
very good. I think the next time I make this I may add some corn, but it's very enjoyable as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Love this! I'm not a huge fan of the texture of most traditional vegetable soups, so I cooked it as instructed but held off adding the cabbage, beans + bay leaves. I cooled it, then used my blender to process a little more than 1/2 the recipe (making sure to put all of the potatoes in the blender to make it the consistency thicker) and added it back along with the remaining ingredients and cooked for another 10 minutes - it was delicious! I should mention that I also didn't have oregano and celery salt, so I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of poultry seasoning (which btw does not have meat in it) instead. Definitely a staple in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States