Wakula's First Attempt at Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Has become a family staple! So easy, healthy, and tasty....thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This was quite good. As others have said, it makes a lot, so prepared to freeze some unless you are feeding an army. Will make again. Note: I used spinach instead of cabbage because tha's what I had, but I definitely think the cabbage would have been better as it would have added a differnet texture. We also doubled all the spices except the bay, which was a good choice for us. I also added two cans of canary beans to up the protein. All in all, a good stew to celebrate the autumnal equinox.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Wenger Woodburn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
We loved this stew! Excellent flavor! I added some rice leftover from another dish and used only of the potatoes. I also used only 1/2 the amount of cabbage. We will definitely have this as one of our staple soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Fantastic! I have been searching for a good vegetarian stew and this is just what I wanted. I followed the recipe as is and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Robinett
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was great. The cheese was a nice touch to round out a hearty vegetarian meal. I added some turnips to the mix instead of potatoes and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeffrey
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was an awesome stew. I went out of the box & used parsnips instead of potatoes,and used seasoning that I had in the house. Very hearty dish. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
It tried the recipe as is and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Really yummy. I substituted extra cabbage and spinach for the potatoes. I also made my first batch with pinto beans, instead of black beans, which was very tasty. Since I didn't have vegetable stock, I used beef broth, which brought out the flavor in the veggies. I dolloped a bit of French Onion light dip on top with cheese and fresh basil. YUM. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caley022
Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
The flavor is excellent. I added flour to thicken it up a bit, a dash of cumin and used organic chicken broth instead of vegetable, since it was what I had handy. I think that next time I make it I will decrease by a potato, add a carrot, can of kidney beans and a can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made this as per the recipe except cooked it a little longer and made bisquick dumplings on top. Even if you are not a vegetarian, this is an excellent, hearty dinner on a cold winter night! Deeeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States