Wakula's First Attempt at Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This was quite good. As others have said, it makes a lot, so prepared to freeze some unless you are feeding an army. Will make again. Note: I used spinach instead of cabbage because tha's what I had, but I definitely think the cabbage would have been better as it would have added a differnet texture. We also doubled all the spices except the bay, which was a good choice for us. I also added two cans of canary beans to up the protein. All in all, a good stew to celebrate the autumnal equinox.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Wenger Woodburn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
We loved this stew! Excellent flavor! I added some rice leftover from another dish and used only of the potatoes. I also used only 1/2 the amount of cabbage. We will definitely have this as one of our staple soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Fantastic! I have been searching for a good vegetarian stew and this is just what I wanted. I followed the recipe as is and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Robinett
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was great. The cheese was a nice touch to round out a hearty vegetarian meal. I added some turnips to the mix instead of potatoes and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeffrey
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was an awesome stew. I went out of the box & used parsnips instead of potatoes,and used seasoning that I had in the house. Very hearty dish. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
It tried the recipe as is and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Really yummy. I substituted extra cabbage and spinach for the potatoes. I also made my first batch with pinto beans, instead of black beans, which was very tasty. Since I didn't have vegetable stock, I used beef broth, which brought out the flavor in the veggies. I dolloped a bit of French Onion light dip on top with cheese and fresh basil. YUM. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caley022
Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
The flavor is excellent. I added flour to thicken it up a bit, a dash of cumin and used organic chicken broth instead of vegetable, since it was what I had handy. I think that next time I make it I will decrease by a potato, add a carrot, can of kidney beans and a can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made this as per the recipe except cooked it a little longer and made bisquick dumplings on top. Even if you are not a vegetarian, this is an excellent, hearty dinner on a cold winter night! Deeeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
very good. I think the next time I make this I may add some corn, but it's very enjoyable as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States