Wakula's First Attempt at Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made this stew for a family dinner. My son's girlfriends are both vegetarian and I was having beef stew so I made this so they could eat stew also. We served the stews in bread bowls. It was a great hit with the girlfriends and with those of ua who weren't vegetarians! I made it as the directions said and i t was just right. Thank you for the recipe that made me a hit with my sons and their girlfriends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Obviously, I think this is delicious. I used olive oil rather than butter. Not knowing what "bunches" of leeks meant, I used two leeks. Chinese cabbage is called "Napa" cabbage at my grocery. I used red potatoes; 1/4 teaspoon cayenne and omitted the bay leaves. Using a good organic vegetable broth (Pacific or Wolf Gang)will make this more stew-like than soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe made so much! I used northern beans instead of black beans, because of what is available in Scandinavia. Otherwise, I followed this recipe closely. I added also some leftover zucchini and bell pepper. The taste got better as time went along. Since my boyfriend did not really like it, I had to eat it all- it took me almost a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This stew was absolutely delicious! I'm a vegetarian always looking for new recipes to cook up & this one will be added to my favorites. No changes except cooking it a bit longer to soften veggies a bit more. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissGreenTea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berthoud, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This recipe was delicious. It turned out more like soup than a stew, but that's okay. The seasoning was perfect. I simmered it for 30 minutes (a bit longer than the recipe suggested). I didn't have leeks or elephant garlic, so I skipped those and just used 2 (minced) cloves of regular garlic. My husband had been complaining about me never serving meat, so I skipped the cheese and simply sauteed 8 oz. of sliced knockwurst (my old stand-by) with the onions and garlic at the beginning of the recipe. Oh, and I used olive oil instead of butter - keeping it kosher. :) My husband and daughter loved it. It's very hearty - a great recipe for those crisp autumn days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
My family loves this stew!!!! My two young boys even love it! This is a family staple now. The only changes I have made were to use different cabbages, depending upon organic availability, and to cook this longer (and only because I don't fuss or keep close watch on time!). It always turns out wonderfully and any of my friends who have tried this have loved it as well. Even my mother-in-law, who likes almost nothing she doesn't cook, asked me for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Really yummy. I substituted extra cabbage and spinach for the potatoes. I also made my first batch with pinto beans, instead of black beans, which was very tasty. Since I didn't have vegetable stock, I used beef broth, which brought out the flavor in the veggies. I dolloped a bit of French Onion light dip on top with cheese and fresh basil. YUM. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caley022
Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
The flavor is excellent. I added flour to thicken it up a bit, a dash of cumin and used organic chicken broth instead of vegetable, since it was what I had handy. I think that next time I make it I will decrease by a potato, add a carrot, can of kidney beans and a can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made this as per the recipe except cooked it a little longer and made bisquick dumplings on top. Even if you are not a vegetarian, this is an excellent, hearty dinner on a cold winter night! Deeeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
very good. I think the next time I make this I may add some corn, but it's very enjoyable as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States