Wakula's First Attempt at Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
very good, I used a bit less garlic and cooked it a bit longer. quite spicy, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made this stew for a family dinner. My son's girlfriends are both vegetarian and I was having beef stew so I made this so they could eat stew also. We served the stews in bread bowls. It was a great hit with the girlfriends and with those of ua who weren't vegetarians! I made it as the directions said and i t was just right. Thank you for the recipe that made me a hit with my sons and their girlfriends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitti
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This soup is fantastic- so much flavor and rich texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Fritzie
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was delicious! I made it exactly as described, then embellished with some previously cooked pork loin braised in milk. It didn't need it, mind you, I just had it on hand. It's like the comfortyest comfort food ever. I will make this stew forevermore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Fritzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This stew was absolutely delicious! I'm a vegetarian always looking for new recipes to cook up & this one will be added to my favorites. No changes except cooking it a bit longer to soften veggies a bit more. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissGreenTea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berthoud, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Totally delicious. I did substitute cauliflower for the celery & leeks though and probably gave it a large dose of cheyenne instead of a dash - I wonder how this would be with seafood?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Very tasty. I didn't have any celery salt and substituted mixed Italian dried herbs for the oregano, but other than that I didn't change a thing. Very warming, filling, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe made so much! I used northern beans instead of black beans, because of what is available in Scandinavia. Otherwise, I followed this recipe closely. I added also some leftover zucchini and bell pepper. The taste got better as time went along. Since my boyfriend did not really like it, I had to eat it all- it took me almost a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
My family loves this stew!!!! My two young boys even love it! This is a family staple now. The only changes I have made were to use different cabbages, depending upon organic availability, and to cook this longer (and only because I don't fuss or keep close watch on time!). It always turns out wonderfully and any of my friends who have tried this have loved it as well. Even my mother-in-law, who likes almost nothing she doesn't cook, asked me for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This recipe was delicious. It turned out more like soup than a stew, but that's okay. The seasoning was perfect. I simmered it for 30 minutes (a bit longer than the recipe suggested). I didn't have leeks or elephant garlic, so I skipped those and just used 2 (minced) cloves of regular garlic. My husband had been complaining about me never serving meat, so I skipped the cheese and simply sauteed 8 oz. of sliced knockwurst (my old stand-by) with the onions and garlic at the beginning of the recipe. Oh, and I used olive oil instead of butter - keeping it kosher. :) My husband and daughter loved it. It's very hearty - a great recipe for those crisp autumn days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States