Wakula's First Attempt at Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I cooked this on high in the crock pot for 6 hours. Definitely made it a stew this way. Had to add more liquid it was so thick. Taste was good as written. Didn't have any cabbage and used crushed tomatoes instead of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I loved this recipe! It was so easy and delicious. The only thing I didn't do was add the cayenne pepper (i didn't have any). But it was still sooo yummy. The perfect thing for a cold rainy fall evening. This will definitely become one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was like a really hearty minestrone. I omitted the cabbage and celery but threw in a zucchini. A wonderful warming soup for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Obviously, I think this is delicious. I used olive oil rather than butter. Not knowing what "bunches" of leeks meant, I used two leeks. Chinese cabbage is called "Napa" cabbage at my grocery. I used red potatoes; 1/4 teaspoon cayenne and omitted the bay leaves. Using a good organic vegetable broth (Pacific or Wolf Gang)will make this more stew-like than soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
i really love this stew! it is more like a soup as others have written, but that can be tweaked with a litle bit of flour. what i love so much about this is that you can do a variety of things with this and come up with many different flavors and recipes. or, make as stated and it's so delicious! i had just received my farm share and had no idea what i was going to do with it all and then i came across this recipe. it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is really good. I do leave out the celery salt, cayenne and bay leaves though. I've tried it with bok choy and with swiss chard at different times and they are both good. I do tend to use pinto or white kidney beans instead of the black beans because that's what my kids like. Yes, my kids eat this. They don't love it, but they don't complain or refuse to eat it, which is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This recipe was delicious. It turned out more like soup than a stew, but that's okay. The seasoning was perfect. I simmered it for 30 minutes (a bit longer than the recipe suggested). I didn't have leeks or elephant garlic, so I skipped those and just used 2 (minced) cloves of regular garlic. My husband had been complaining about me never serving meat, so I skipped the cheese and simply sauteed 8 oz. of sliced knockwurst (my old stand-by) with the onions and garlic at the beginning of the recipe. Oh, and I used olive oil instead of butter - keeping it kosher. :) My husband and daughter loved it. It's very hearty - a great recipe for those crisp autumn days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
My family loves this stew!!!! My two young boys even love it! This is a family staple now. The only changes I have made were to use different cabbages, depending upon organic availability, and to cook this longer (and only because I don't fuss or keep close watch on time!). It always turns out wonderfully and any of my friends who have tried this have loved it as well. Even my mother-in-law, who likes almost nothing she doesn't cook, asked me for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe made so much! I used northern beans instead of black beans, because of what is available in Scandinavia. Otherwise, I followed this recipe closely. I added also some leftover zucchini and bell pepper. The taste got better as time went along. Since my boyfriend did not really like it, I had to eat it all- it took me almost a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Very tasty. I didn't have any celery salt and substituted mixed Italian dried herbs for the oregano, but other than that I didn't change a thing. Very warming, filling, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States