Wakula's First Attempt at Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was an ok recipe. Beware of the cabbage inducing gas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Based on the other reviews I read, I expected this dish to be a lot better. I thought the tomato sauce was overpowering, and it could probably be left out. I also added flour, as others suggested because it was very soupy. It wasn't terrible, my boyfriend enjoyed it, and without the tomato sauce it probably would've been a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyNichole

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This wonderful stew might make a vegetarian out of me yet. It was absolutely delicious and even though it makes quite a lot, I've had it twice for dinner and numerous lunches. Loved, loved, loved it. Will be making it many more times. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Wow -- this was really good! I followed some other reviews and used oil instead of butter and zuchinni, but no celery or celery salt. I also used 1 bag of shredded cabbage (coleslaw mix) and 6 cups of veggie broth. Very yummy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This dish is amazingly wonderful. I didn't purchase the $5.99 elephant garlic and used regular - also added mushrooms (at the end) and cauliflower. It's a nice mixture of flavor, spice, and vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is pretty good for a veggie stew. It did turn out very soupy so next time I will use less vegetable broth. I am a Vegan so I used olive oil instead of butter and left out the cheese. With all the washing, peeling and chopping prep time was more like 30 minutes and not the 15 stated but it was still a quick and easy stew to make and tasted good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I had quite a bit of Chinese cabbage I needed to use up and came accross this recipe. My husband and I both loved it. I simmered for and extra hour and thickened with flour so it had a more stew-like consistency. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this on a whim. I didn't have any of the main ingredients and it still came out WONDERFUL! Instead of Leeks & Chinese cabbage, I used a frozen block of chopped spinach & used more of the other ingredients. Instead of vegetable broth I used a packet of Lipton Onion Soup mix. I added lots more potatoes. EXCELLENT RECIPE! Thank you Wakula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I cooked this on high in the crock pot for 6 hours. Definitely made it a stew this way. Had to add more liquid it was so thick. Taste was good as written. Didn't have any cabbage and used crushed tomatoes instead of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I loved this recipe! It was so easy and delicious. The only thing I didn't do was add the cayenne pepper (i didn't have any). But it was still sooo yummy. The perfect thing for a cold rainy fall evening. This will definitely become one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States