Wake-Up Casserole - Canadian Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I'm rating 3, but that's me. My husband and daughter liked it and my grandma loved it. For me- only fair. I think it was the egg beaters maybe, as I enjoyed the potato part and the cheese. I followed recipe exactly except my pan only held 7 patties and I used ham instead of Canadian bacon. I did use the southwestern egg beaters. I see how I could adapt this so I might like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
The hubby declared this a home run. I liked it though was surprised the southwestern egg beaters didn't impart more flavor. Also thought it was really greasy, which is a shame given how healthy the rest of it is. I will try regular shredded potatoes next time instead of the frozen patties. Left out the salt and didn't miss it - the canadian bacon, egg beaters and patties had plenty of sodium already! Used only 1 bag of shredded cheese (2 cups) - thought it was plenty. This could use a little bit of spice, might try pepperjack next time or a few shakes of crushed red pepper, and LOVE the idea of scallions on top! Definitely hearty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I used 2 cups of eggs instead of substitute eggs and sauteed some peppers and onion to add to it. I also halved the cheese b/c there was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Easy and tastes good. I added sauted red peppers, mushrooms and green onions. I also used half the cheese and Canadian bacon and still received lots of compliments on the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Thanks so much for this Steve!! I totally appreciate the healthy version you offer up here. I followed the recipe mostly, only substituting cooked turkey sausage patties from Sam's Club dotcom crumbled up and scattered across the casserole. It is cooling on the counter and awaiting cutting and wrapping for freezer storage. It smells AMAZING!! I have high hopes it reheats beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was a nice easy breakfast casserole; I liked the ease of using frozen hash brown patties. I used real eggs, so I added bell peppers, onions, green chilis, and tomatoes to my eggs (8). This took a bit longer to bake for me. Our guests all enjoyed it and I liked that it was easy to throw together (in a camper, even!). THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Substituted tater tots & diced ham. Delish! Took to church luncheon & everyone wanted recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was great! I added crumbled bacon to the top the last 15 mins. However, I will cut out the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Sorry, we did not like this so much. My husband and I thought there was too much of a potato base to it, maybe if I had crisped the hash browns before assembling it would have been better. Thank you for the recipe, I love to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I make this casserole every week for my breakfast to take to work. I just throw in whatever I happen to have on hand. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States