Waistline-Friendly Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
If you make this exactly as it is in the recipe it will be very spicy! I used a t. of chili powder, a t. of red pepper flakes, and no green chili peppers, and it was still pretty spicy. (I guess that would depend on how hot your salsa is too.) This recipe was SOOOO good though, it's nice that you can just change it to your liking if it is too spicy! Next time I will do what I did this time, but just leave out the red pepper flakes and I think that will do it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed this chili. It has a nice smoky flavor thanks to the barbeque sauce and the chipotles. (I didn't have chipotle barbeques sauce so I used regular bbq and a tablespoon of chopped chopotle peppers.) I entered it into Weight Watchers to check the points...only 4 points per serving! It's very filling and well worth the many ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This is amazing. Couldn't even wait for it to cook an hour! Used Jack Daniels Spicy Original BBQ sauce, MILD salsa, and fresh cilantro. Did not use red pepper flakes, green chiles or corn and only 1/2 c green pepper and it was just the way we like it - a little hot and spicy but not too. Will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
What a terrific low-fat, low-cal recipe! This is really good stuff, and yes, it does have a firey finish. I made in the slow cooker by browning the turkey, garlic, onion, and peppers, and then just placed everything in the slow cooker for about 10 hours. I tasted after about 5 hours, a tad on the sweet side for me, so I added a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar and an extra pinch of salt. This smelled so good cooking! Thanks for an easy and delicious recipe, Kate. The only thing missing were the extra calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Fantastic recipe!! I used Sweet Baby Ray's Sweet and Spicy barbecue sauce and threw in some chipotle tobasco sauce. Omitted the green pepper (didn't have any) and used a whole red pepper. Halved the red pepper & chili powder to a tsp. each and achieved just the right spiciness for my liking. Omitted the cilantro (I hate it) and added some fresh chopped parsley instead. Will definitely be making again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Metzger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Really very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Fabulous, full-flavored, low-cal chili! My husband said this is the best chili I have ever made. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Excellent!! I used a crockpot and let it simmer for a few hours. I didn't have cumin and it was still wonderful; also eased up on the red pepper since I don't like a lot of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeliaBelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Very GOOD chili. I used all green pepper and it was still very colorful. I think the bbq sauce is a key ingredient and I used Sweet Baby Rays--Hioney chipotle. Yum! As others have said it is VERY spicy and if you don't like sour cream in your chili you may want to decrease the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! It is important to use less spice though if you don't like it too hot. I didn't change hardly anything and it turned out perfectly for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baffy79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Indiana, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States