Waistline-Friendly Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Wow!!! I was expecting something bland and, well, diet tasting. Boy was this great! I read the other reviews and didn't want mine too spicy so I omitted the chopped green chilies and the red pepper flakes. I used a tablespoon of fresh copped paste cilantro b/c the store didn't have fresh (it was wonderful). Like another reviewer said, I couldn't wait an hour and kept dipping in as it was simmering! Going in my favorites list for sure!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Too spicy, too sweet for everybody. I did not agree. I really loved it. Perhaps I picked a sweet salsa r BBQ sauce. I would make it again for sure. Change the salsa and BBQ sauce just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I made this recipe last night, and it was delicious! It was a little bit sweet (with the BBQ sauce) but had a surprising kick of spice after the first few bites! I used Sweet Baby Ray's Chipotle BBQ sauce (it was the only kind I could find, and I like that brand). I made the recipe exactly as listed, and wouldn't make any changes! I will make this many times to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I was a little skeptical when throwing the ingredients in the pot, but this chili turned out amazing! I like spicy chili so it was perfect for me. It made great leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
It tastes good, and like other reviewers have mentioned, it is very spicy. I am having a hard time understanding the five stars, though. I found this chili to be overwhelmingly BBQ flavored. It def. is unlike chili and more like a turkey-veggie mix with BBQ smothered over the top. I am pretty disappointed, and probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmarie2715

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Fabulous! Super-spicy, but real yummy. We ate off this for days without getting tired of it. Talk about a delicious twist on your ordinary chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Really good, really easy. I didn't have chipotle bbq so I took some mesquite and added some ground chipotle. Also used fresh chopped cilantro instead of dried. May mince a habanero for extra kick next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Yummy - make sure that you like the bbq sauce's taste, because that's a huge part of the flavor. Very spicy, serve with sour cream and a lot of water! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I thought this was pretty good and with the modifications I made to the recipe I probably would only give it 4 stars. I assume if I would have had the chipotle bbq sauce I would have liked it better, hence the 5 star rating. Also did not have the bell peppers on hand and that probably would have made it better as well. I used regular bbq sauce and added chipotle chili powder. The bbq sauce I used was too sweet for my taste. I added an extra can of tomatoes since I had an extra person to feed at the last minute. Because of that I served the chili over spaghetti noodles to make it go further. I was afraid we wouldn't have enough for my big family (big eaters). However, because I served it over pasta we had enough to have two more rounds of leftovers. I will probably make this again, but I would want to use the right bbq sauce and add the bell peppers. Fam couldn't believe it was ground turkey. Planning to slide that in on them more and more for our health's sake. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waynesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
If you make this exactly as it is in the recipe it will be very spicy! I used a t. of chili powder, a t. of red pepper flakes, and no green chili peppers, and it was still pretty spicy. (I guess that would depend on how hot your salsa is too.) This recipe was SOOOO good though, it's nice that you can just change it to your liking if it is too spicy! Next time I will do what I did this time, but just leave out the red pepper flakes and I think that will do it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States