Waistline-Friendly Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This was a yummy chili! The only changes I made were not using chipotle BBQ sauce, I thought it would be too spicy, and I didn't add cilantro as my family doesn't like it. I made it in the morning and put it in a crock pot to simmer all day. I used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce, LaVictoria mild salsa, and instead of using plain diced tomatoes I used S&W diced tomatoes with chilies. If you follow the directions exactly it would be pretty spicy. I used half the amount of red pepper flakes and the chili still had a pretty good kick. I think the next time I'm going to try it without the lime juice. It's just a small amount but it gives it a slightly tart taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parisdc
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I can't wait to make it again, doubling up on everything, though, so I can have so much more to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Didn't use any peppers - used sweet baby rays bbq sauce - added cheddar on top of each serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
It was a cool day Monday morning and I wanted to find a good soup for dinner that I could put in the crockpot. When low and behold in lisa’s morning post …..”What’s for dinner?” Saveur suggested this chili. I had everything except the ground turkey, but I did have ground venison. I mixed this up in the morning and plugged in the crockpot before leaving for school. The smell coming from the house at the end of the day was wonderful and I knew my family was going to love it …….and they did. I normally do not eat venison, but with all the other flavors goin’ on in the chili, it killed that venison taste for me. I really liked the chipotle barbeque sauce in this recipe. I served this with ‘Basil, Roasted Peppers and Monterey Jack Cornbread’ another great AR recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was fantastic! Based on other reviews, I did slightly reduce the spice and sweetness. I used mild salsa and 2/3 of a cup of Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. The flavor was fantastic and the spice was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hebron, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I really loved this, but next time I'm going to change a few things. A whole cup of BBQ sauce was a bit much...the flavor overwhelmed everything else. Of course I only simmered for an hour, not 3. I would also next time use mild sauce instead of medium just because I'm kind of a lightweight when it comes to spicy. Since you use a whole cup of that too, it made things about too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This recipe is sweet because of the barbecue sauce. Check the label for the corn syrup. Sugar is addictive and in almost everything that is prepared for you, not to mention all those icky preservatives. Instead you could add chipotle peppers in adobo sauce to get the heat and smokiness. Found in probably most grocery stores in the Mexican food section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This chili was flavorful and easy to make. I cut the red pepper flakes to 1/2 of a tablespoon instead of the tablespoon that was called for and I'd say it was "medium hot". I also used Sweet Baby Ray Honey BBQ sauce and added a half teaspoon of chipotle chili powder since I didn't have chipotle BBQ sauce, and omitted the cilantro since I didn't have that as well. I simmered it covered for two and a half hours and it was just the right consistency for me. Not soupy at all but nice and thick. I also made the recipe from this site for Golden Sweet Cornbread to go with it and it was very good tool. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I've been making this recipe for the past year or so and it always comes out different but great. When I have any veggies in my fridge that are about to go bad I'll just make this chili and add them to the recipe. I've been doing the South Beach diet on and off for the past 6 months and this recipe is great because you can make it with basically no carbs. I rarely use the lemon juice that the recipe calls for and it still tastes great to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was really yummy! I loved it. I made a few small changes. I used only 1 tsp crushed red pepper and 1 tsp chili powder. Also, I used a little bit more salt, and used some garlic salt. Also, I took Saveur631's advice and added 2 tbsp seasoned rice vinegar. It offset some of the sweetness of the BBQ. Also, I cooked this in a crock pot. Really good. Though, next time I think I might try half cup BBQ sauce instead of the full cup. Will definitely be making this over again! Thank you (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States