Wainachsrollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Had to wait 40 years for secret family recipe. Learns nothing, and shares with world. You rock! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
These are wonderful and not too sweet which is just how I like it. The lard makes them kind of high in the calorie department though, so if you're counting calories, limit yourself to about one cookie a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This is such a fabulous recipe. The cookies are ridiculously addictive. I make them every Christmas. And I have to stop myself from eating them because I give them as gifts. But I don't tell people about the lard, for some reason, that turns them off. Whatever, heaven in your mouth I say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkSugar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I've never tried anything like this before, so I will take others for their word as to the authenticity. All I can really say is that it's a large, somewhat flavorless, soft cookie. I'm glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Almost like those windmill cookies you can buy in the store. However I still felt like it was missing a little something? I think it maybe a bit of salt, because these are not very sweet. Maybe a touch of salt would make the sweetness pop out a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
These were your traditional german cookie. I did increase the cinnamon. makes a large batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Thank you!! These taste almost exactly like my Grandma Wagner's cookies. I know she used lard. My cookbook from her calls them "Weihnachtstrollen"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I just wanted to take another stab at the actual name of these cookies...Weihnachtsrollen might be a possibility (christmas 'rolls'). Weihnachtsstollen is a common Christmas bread, also, but I have never seen it in the form of a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Sorry I gave these such a bad review. I ate these fresh from the oven, and it was a big mistake. After setting these are a very good cookie. I make them most years for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
Bless you for submitting this recipe. My aunt willed me her 100 yr. old German cookie mold but took her recipe to the grave. I think this is very close to the cookies I remember eating as a child. I loved them! It worked out quite well with the hand carved mold as long as the dough was kept cold. A little additional flour improved the detail of the mold designs. I never knew the name of the cookie until now, but believe the spelling would be Weinachstollen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States