Waikiki-Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This sauce is delicious! I made it exactly as is. However, I did not put it on meatballs - I baked boneless/skinless chicken breasts with this sauce poured on top of them. After reading a blog of another fellow "AR Peep" who had made this and commented it would go well on just about anything, I knew I had to try it. I believe next time I make this I will have pheasant. Hubby said pork would be great as well. Thanks for a great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I've been making Waikiki Meatballs for years. The recipe was originally published in a Betty Crocker cookbook in the 1970's, and has always been a family favorite recipe. Make exactly as printed - it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Loved them!! They are perfect as is! A great hit! I also tried adding a bit of soya sauce which was a nice touch as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
always a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I read somewhere you should wet your hands with water before rolling the meatballs. Surprisingly, it works really well at preventing meat mixture from sticking to your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
What a terrific change-up over the usual Italian or BBQ meatball recipes. Where has this been all my life? I made it on the stovetop tonight (baked meatballs and simmered them in the sauce while rice cooked) and was rewarded with smiles all around. Only one change, red pepper for green, because that's how we roll. I used apple cider vinegar because the recipe didn't specify and it just seemed right with the other sauce ingredients. It was a good choice, adding another layer of flavor to a simple, but so very tasty dish. I usually think of ways to improve a recipe as I'm eating it, but with this I was thinking of variations, like adding soy sauce to make it teriyaki, or a little cayenne to give it a kick. I would definitely use the sauce baked over chicken breasts, too. With less cornstarch it would make an island-inspired stir-fry. And it would be so good with pork tenderloin. Oh, the possibilities... The meatballs were delish, too, and such a solid simple recipe that, like the sauce, there are many possible variations, by adding different spices. I made gluten free breadcrumbs in the food processor and they worked perfectly. Next time (and there WILL be one) I might use crushed pineapple so I get a little pineapple in every bite, but that's just a matter of personal taste. This really is a very good recipe. Thank you, Sammie, for adding 2 new guns to my kitchen arsenal. You rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Delicious! This is a very easy recipe to prepare. I served it over rice as a main dish. It would also make a delightful appetizer. We loved the sweet/sour sauce combination. I used a top grade ground chuck. Now, it is no longer a faceless recipe as I made it for the Allstar South Region January activity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Loved them!! I am not an experienced cook, and had never made meatballs before. I made a double batch of these for a potluck, and everyone loved them. I am sure that I will make them again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
*DROOL* These were AMAZING. I used two 1.5 lb bags of frozen meatballs, doubled the measurements for all other ingredients, and set the slow cooker for 4 hours on high. I'm sure fresh meatballs can be cooked on low but I wanted to play it safe since I was using frozen and they were absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaPetrino

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I have loved this recipe for years. Never thought about putting it in the crock pot, but it works for soccer practice night :) the original recipe calls for 1/4 teaspoon ginger for the meat balls and 1 tablespoon soy sauce for the sauce. I highly recommend adding that to what is written here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States