Waikiki-Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
So good! The meatballs were delicious! The sauce was just a little too sweet for me, but that may be because I used crushed pineapple rather than chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Delicious! This is a very easy recipe to prepare. I served it over rice as a main dish. It would also make a delightful appetizer. We loved the sweet/sour sauce combination. I used a top grade ground chuck. Now, it is no longer a faceless recipe as I made it for the Allstar South Region January activity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This sauce is delicious! I made it exactly as is. However, I did not put it on meatballs - I baked boneless/skinless chicken breasts with this sauce poured on top of them. After reading a blog of another fellow "AR Peep" who had made this and commented it would go well on just about anything, I knew I had to try it. I believe next time I make this I will have pheasant. Hubby said pork would be great as well. Thanks for a great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
What a terrific change-up over the usual Italian or BBQ meatball recipes. Where has this been all my life? I made it on the stovetop tonight (baked meatballs and simmered them in the sauce while rice cooked) and was rewarded with smiles all around. Only one change, red pepper for green, because that's how we roll. I used apple cider vinegar because the recipe didn't specify and it just seemed right with the other sauce ingredients. It was a good choice, adding another layer of flavor to a simple, but so very tasty dish. I usually think of ways to improve a recipe as I'm eating it, but with this I was thinking of variations, like adding soy sauce to make it teriyaki, or a little cayenne to give it a kick. I would definitely use the sauce baked over chicken breasts, too. With less cornstarch it would make an island-inspired stir-fry. And it would be so good with pork tenderloin. Oh, the possibilities... The meatballs were delish, too, and such a solid simple recipe that, like the sauce, there are many possible variations, by adding different spices. I made gluten free breadcrumbs in the food processor and they worked perfectly. Next time (and there WILL be one) I might use crushed pineapple so I get a little pineapple in every bite, but that's just a matter of personal taste. This really is a very good recipe. Thank you, Sammie, for adding 2 new guns to my kitchen arsenal. You rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I got this recipe from the the recipe card club back in the 70's Anyone else remember the yellow plastic box and you got one set of cards per month. This is still my kids meal of choice and they are in their 30's and 40 now. I never put it in the crock pot. I think the meatballs would get too done. Serve over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Meatballs came out great and delicious but the sauce and pineapple was somewhat unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
We liked this sauce but it was a bit too sour for us, maybe less vinegar. We didn't put it in the crock pot just over top ready made meatballs as we were short for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I've been making Waikiki Meatballs for years. The recipe was originally published in a Betty Crocker cookbook in the 1970's, and has always been a family favorite recipe. Make exactly as printed - it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States