Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Everyone really enjoyed these meatballs. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Next time I'd rather use ground turkey and bread crumbs. The meatballs needed more flavor - maybe try adding some oregano and garlic powder?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My son really liked this, but my husband did not. I'll have to wait for my son to return from college before I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was very good and my husband really loved it. I did bake my meatballs instead of frying. I only had a yellow bell pepper, but next time will make with red and green. Served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I used frozen meatballs instead of the recipe given. I also added red pepper flakes per someone elses suggestion and I added fresh ginger. This was so sweet we can not eat it. I did everything else according to the directions and it just simply is way to sweet. If I had used 1/4 of the sugar we may had liked it but I seriously doubt I will ever make it again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very good recipe- only thing I did different was make the meatballs and bake them in the oven on a cookie sheet lined w/ foil for easy clean up. Also, added some cut up sweet vidalia onion along w/ the pepper and pineapple. A keeper- will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I didn't love these, mainly the meatballs were bland - I really think because of the saltines. Yet DH liked them which is interesting because he's not a fan of meatballs. But I will try again using Ritz I think - and maybe either fresh ginger or more ground ginger. I did use more peppers and sauteed them before making the sauce, I used a 20oz can of pineapple chunks so only 1/4c brown sugar because of the added sweetness from the pineapples. We liked the sauce very much, I wasn't crazy about the meatballs but worth working with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Pretty good, the kids ate it with no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
He who never gets his way loved this. I make the peppers and onions in a seperate pan with a little evoo and toss in with mine later no onions in the meatballs. Except for that one change recipe stays the same. Wonderful, Thanks for the recipe CMAYBELL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
For the meatballs, I only used 1 tsp. ground ginger, and that was plenty for us, I grated the onion which made the meatballs more moist in my opinion. I, like other reviewers baked mine at 350 for 20 min. only because I wanted to use my toaster oven. I did saute the bell pepper and pineapple, on med/high just to brown slightly, for an added flavor. I used rice wine vinegar instead of white keeping with the asian profile. I also felt the 2 tbsp. of cornstarch was too much, making the sauce too thick so I added water to thin it out, I also added a little chicken base for added flavor. Next time I will start with one tbsp. of cornstarch and go from there. Very good recipe, thanks for posting CMAYBELL :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made these last minute because someone onte Buzz got me thinking about meatballs and this recipe at 4:00pm, lol I found the sauce just a bit sweet for my taste so I added about 2 more tsp. of soya sauce and a dash of worchestshire sauce. I also used dark brown sugar because I prefer it for a savory sauce. That is completely personal taste though. It was a really nice thick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States