Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I thought this was really good. I followed the recipe pretty close. I used a whole 20oz can of pineapple IN JUICE NOT SYRUP...i think some people used the ones that are in heavy syrup and that is why it was too sweet. I also used rice vinegar in place of white. I also used italian bread crumbs in place of the crackers and added garlic the the meat mixture. I also added big chunks of onion as well. Next time I think I will add some asian hot chili paste to the meat balls before cooking. I served this with fried rice from this site. I also cooked these in the oven. Great meal! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very easy and even my four-year-old liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Pretty good, I used chicken instead of the meatballs, it was just like sweet n sour chicken. Next time i will add more veggies and a little less pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Half my family loved and half not so much. It was easy and fast, a definite plus for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was an awesome recipe. Like everyone else this one is going to be a keeper. I also suggest cooking them in the oven vs over the stove. In the oven is healthier and less messy. It still tastes as great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
My husband and I really liked this. I dislike it when people change recipes on the first try...but I admit I did. I didn't have soy sauce so I used worchestershire...I didn't have onions so I used 2 teaspoons of onion salt...which I prefer because of texture. I also added a can and a half of La Choy Veggies (bean sprouts, water chestnuts, etc.) After the meat was brown, but not done I added the pineapple, peppers, and La Choy Veggies...then when those were hot and cooked thru, I added the glaze/sauce. I don't think any changes I made were "needed"...I just wanted a little more than peppers and pineapple to munch on when complete. It was terrific spooned over rice. I gave it 4 stars because I had wished the meatballs were more infused with flavor...but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Delicious! Put the meatballs with garlic added in the oven and included the carrot to the sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
These were really good. I would recommend doubling the ingredients for the sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I think this was pretty good, but i think the sauce was too sweet. it needs less sugar. also, the sauce does need to be doubled to make enough for the meatballs. i would suggest adding more seasonings to the meatballs. mine tasted more like meatloaf than meatballs. next time i will add more ginger, maybe a little cumin and parlsey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moondragunz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
sorry but these were really bad...never again. I pretty much made them as written except I used bread crumbs instead of saltines and fresh ginger in place of the ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States