Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I enjoyed this. I followed the recipe for the most part. Just kicked up the sauce and meatballs with a little hot sauce. I baked the meatballs as others did rather than putting them in a pan. I served them over rice. I think the hot sauce is necessary to balance out the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shainna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
My whole family loves this recipe. I BAKE my meatballs for 30 minutes at 350 degrees on a foil-lined baking sheet (sprayed with Pam) for easy clean-up [the meatballs don't 'break apart' this way, and baking them makes this low-fat]. While the meatballs are baking, I cook plain jasmine rice and make the sauce. ---> I USE JUST A SCANT 1/4 CUP white vinegar… I add more chopped green bell pepper (personal preference) and add two ‘flat’ cans of unsweetened pineapple chunks (I often cannot find the larger cans of unsweetened pineapple chunks)… When the meatballs are done baking, I use tongs to add them to the sauce, carefully fold them into the sauce, and serve over rice. Delish. Wouldn't change anything else! Reheats very well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was a great dish. I added fresh grated ginger to meatballs and baked them on a cookie sheet. I also added sesame seeds in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I thaught this recepie was great. It had lots of flavor contrary to some reviews. I followed the suggestions of others and baked the meatballs in the oven on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. The only change I made was I cooked the sauce in a saucepan, added the peppers and pineapple at the last few mins to get warm...I placed the meatballs in a glass bakingdish and poured the sauce mixture ontop and baked at 350 for 30mins turning once. They ended up AWESOME!!! Tastey all the way through..mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trishherbert

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This had a nice flavor, but made a little too much meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
My husband and son loved this meal. I used ground turkey and I cooked the sauce separately in a pot and then poured it over the meatballs to serve. I think keeping it separated is better for the left overs. It reminds us of sweet & sour chicken at a Chinese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I made this for supper last night. It is delicious. Even my husband who is picky, had seconds. I made the recipe exactly as written and served it on a bed of balsamic rice. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maxine
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I was short on time so I used frozen Italian meatballs and this recipe still was wonderful. I used brown rice instead of white rice, too. Next time I will add strips of onion and give the recipes meatballs a try. Will make this one a regular for my family. Great. Maxine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Wonderful and easy. Only reasons not 5 stars was I took this to work the following day and it didn't microwave well. Great fresh over hot rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarbelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Great recipe. I used the Costco small meatballs and this made it so much easier and it turned out delicious. Great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

A quick and easy recipe for sweet and tangy meatballs.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States