Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I have had this recipe in my collection for years, and have made it a million times. My family loves it. Here are a few tips to cut the prep time: Oven bake the meatballs at 350 degrees for 20 minutes on a foil lined broiler pan. The fat melts off, and the meatballs stay firm, instead of crumbling apart. Cuts down on calories and fat, and improves the taste. Also, when making the sauce, just dump all the ingredients in a saucepan at the same time, and whisk the heck out of it. No lumps, and cuts down on dishes. Enjoy! We love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
The only thing that I do differently after having been making this recipe for several years is that instead of cooking the meatballs on the stove, I put them on a cookie sheet and cook them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. Much less messy, and faster too. I can cook the meatballs in the oven while I do the sauce on the stovetop. Plus, my meatballs never fall apart this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I make this alot. It is a BETTY CROCKER ORIGINAL.... It is highly requested for parties I attend. I cook the meatballs in the oven 350 for 20 min, then double the sauce and mix it all in the crockpot. Keep on low, and stir occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
A big hit! I made a few changes and used fresh bread crumbs instead of crackers and some cilantro for the meatballs. I used less sugar for the sauce and red peppers instead of green. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
These were delicious. I made some changes: I used ground turkey instead of ground beef, I used reduced-fat ritz crackers instead of saltines, like some other people, I baked mine in a 350F oven for 20 mins then I added them to the sauce, I added 1/2 of a red pepper and more green pepper, I used fresh ginger instead of ground, and all I had was a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks so I used almost all of that. I also cut down a tiny bit on the sugar. Everyone loved them...I served them over brown rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
First of all, we added coarsely chopped onion, red pepper, yellow pepper, green pepper, and a sliced carrot. Then we just used 1lb of ground pork for the balls. We used bread crumbs instead of crackers and we used fresh grated ginger instead of the powdered. The meatballs were great. Our sauce turned out a little bland although we still had plenty of sauce with the additions. Next time we will do everything the same, except add extra soy sauce and some red pepper flake to kick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I really liked these. I did bake them like other reviewers suggested on 350 for about 20 minutes, then broiled them to get just a little more color on top. I also used fresh ginger that I grated instead of ground ginger. Hubby said that the meatballs were delicious, but the sauce was only o.k. I loved the sauce. Was a little afraid that it would be too sweet after reading some of the reviews, but I guess we like sweet. I will definately make again, very easy. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
My family loves this with chicken (cubed or whole boneless skinless breasts), ground turkey, TVP, and my hubby likes it with ground beef :) To the sauce I add red pepper, green onions, garlic powder, ginger, use 1/4 cup lemon juice instead of vinegar, 1/4 cup br. sugar & 2 tbsp honey. And it was awesome just as it was written as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Easy, but only 4 stars for taste. The sauce was tangy and sweet, but the meatballs were fairly bland. The ginger added a nice dimension but was not enough to save the meatballs from mediocrity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kueneman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
This recipie turned out good, the kids liked it, I found it a little bland. I added a bit of hot pepper flakes towards the end of cooking to balance the sweet flavour. I also used brown sugar sweetner, so it might have been that I should have used less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States