Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe is awesome! My kids love it. I will make this again and again, I made a double batch of the sauce because my husband likes a lot of juice. Although I did take advice from some of the others and cut the sugar down by half, and added two heaping tablespoons of apricot preserves, delicious: o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I love sweet food, but this was entirely too sweet. The underlying flavors were very promising, but next time I'm cutting the brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I am going to rate the sauce, because I used my own recipe for the meatballs. It was excellent! I used half the amount of sugar suggested, 1 whole bell pepper and half regular vinegar / half balsamic. Thanks for a new stapler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Sauce tasted watery sweet. If that makes sense. The meatballs were a bit bland. Strong taste of the ginger in the meatballs and that was it. No making this again. Its so nasty, and my husband and I are SO AGAINST wasting food but were throwing the pot full of this in the trash. I made 20 meatballs with this recipe and my husband and I had 2 meatballs each because we were so hungry. The rest of it is going in the garbage. Its the worst meatballs weve ever had! Im having a bowl of cereal now for dinner because I cant eat these meatballs! Im from Hawaii and its a disgrace to calls this recipe Waikiki Meatballs! My 3 year old said it was nasty! So disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndresMadre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Travis Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
YUMMY!!! Soooo deliciouss, i was a bit frustrated when i was cooking these meatballs since they were falling appart a bit but they tasted SO goood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I totally cheated and used a bag of trader joes turkey meatballs and I still think this is a 5 star recipe. I just added some fresh Ginger to the sauce since it isn't in the meatballs. I also used an entire green pepper. Next time I would reduce the sugar some, it was a little too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
So good! I, too, baked the meatballs and used onion powder instead of minced onion. I added some red pepper flakes to the meatball mixture. My son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
A little too much ginger, and next time I will try baking the meatballs since they fell apart in the pan. Otherwise, very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Very Very good! Meatballs were awesome, I cooked them low and slow in my deep skillet. I would suggest however to cut the brown sugar from a 1/2 Cup to a 1/4 Cup...it was just a bit sweet with the pinapple juice and pinapple chuncks. I served these with Orange Rice Medley and Sesame Broccoli (all recipes from this site). An asian flavored dinner without paying for take out. I would also like to mention this dish did take a bit more prep time than noted in the recipe...if you are in a hurry I would use a slow cooker or prep your veggies ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
loved this. soooo easy to do when you use boxed meatballs and a flavourwave. dinner is ready in 25 minutes. no green peppers, used pineapple tidbits and dumped it all into a saucepan, boiled it and added the meatballs. couldn't be easier served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States