Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was excellent! The only change I made was using oyster crackers instead of saltines. I realized that I had red and orange peppers in the house, but not green, and went with that. It added more color and flavor anyway. I went with white wine vinegar, instead of regular white, as I find it less strong and low-sodium soy sauce. For the beef I used 93% lean and it worked great. I was worried the sauce would have flavor but the meatballs wouldn't blend in well, but with the added ginger, they blend perfectly. I did use scant spoonfuls of the ginger, as I didn't want an overwhelming ginger taste, and it seemed to be the right amount. I served it with some lightly buttered rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by jenna4
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a fave recipe in our family. I've made it as written and also modified it to make it Paleo-friendly. To do that, I used cooked ground beef mixed with the sauce (with aminos instead of soy sauce) and serve it lettuce-cup style using butter lettuce. You do have to chop the pineapple and other ingredients a bit smaller to make it easier to eat. It's a good meal and also makes a good appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Surprisingly sweet and irresistible! They store well as leftovers too, if you are lucky enough to have any. Although, the tend to fall apart; better to bake em in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe is awesome! My kids love it. I will make this again and again, I made a double batch of the sauce because my husband likes a lot of juice. Although I did take advice from some of the others and cut the sugar down by half, and added two heaping tablespoons of apricot preserves, delicious: o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I love sweet food, but this was entirely too sweet. The underlying flavors were very promising, but next time I'm cutting the brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I am going to rate the sauce, because I used my own recipe for the meatballs. It was excellent! I used half the amount of sugar suggested, 1 whole bell pepper and half regular vinegar / half balsamic. Thanks for a new stapler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Sauce tasted watery sweet. If that makes sense. The meatballs were a bit bland. Strong taste of the ginger in the meatballs and that was it. No making this again. Its so nasty, and my husband and I are SO AGAINST wasting food but were throwing the pot full of this in the trash. I made 20 meatballs with this recipe and my husband and I had 2 meatballs each because we were so hungry. The rest of it is going in the garbage. Its the worst meatballs weve ever had! Im having a bowl of cereal now for dinner because I cant eat these meatballs! Im from Hawaii and its a disgrace to calls this recipe Waikiki Meatballs! My 3 year old said it was nasty! So disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndresMadre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Travis Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
YUMMY!!! Soooo deliciouss, i was a bit frustrated when i was cooking these meatballs since they were falling appart a bit but they tasted SO goood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I totally cheated and used a bag of trader joes turkey meatballs and I still think this is a 5 star recipe. I just added some fresh Ginger to the sauce since it isn't in the meatballs. I also used an entire green pepper. Next time I would reduce the sugar some, it was a little too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
So good! I, too, baked the meatballs and used onion powder instead of minced onion. I added some red pepper flakes to the meatball mixture. My son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States