Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe is awesome! My kids love it. I will make this again and again, I made a double batch of the sauce because my husband likes a lot of juice. Although I did take advice from some of the others and cut the sugar down by half, and added two heaping tablespoons of apricot preserves, delicious: o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I love sweet food, but this was entirely too sweet. The underlying flavors were very promising, but next time I'm cutting the brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I am going to rate the sauce, because I used my own recipe for the meatballs. It was excellent! I used half the amount of sugar suggested, 1 whole bell pepper and half regular vinegar / half balsamic. Thanks for a new stapler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Sauce tasted watery sweet. If that makes sense. The meatballs were a bit bland. Strong taste of the ginger in the meatballs and that was it. No making this again. Its so nasty, and my husband and I are SO AGAINST wasting food but were throwing the pot full of this in the trash. I made 20 meatballs with this recipe and my husband and I had 2 meatballs each because we were so hungry. The rest of it is going in the garbage. Its the worst meatballs weve ever had! Im having a bowl of cereal now for dinner because I cant eat these meatballs! Im from Hawaii and its a disgrace to calls this recipe Waikiki Meatballs! My 3 year old said it was nasty! So disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndresMadre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Travis Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
YUMMY!!! Soooo deliciouss, i was a bit frustrated when i was cooking these meatballs since they were falling appart a bit but they tasted SO goood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I totally cheated and used a bag of trader joes turkey meatballs and I still think this is a 5 star recipe. I just added some fresh Ginger to the sauce since it isn't in the meatballs. I also used an entire green pepper. Next time I would reduce the sugar some, it was a little too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
So good! I, too, baked the meatballs and used onion powder instead of minced onion. I added some red pepper flakes to the meatball mixture. My son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
A little too much ginger, and next time I will try baking the meatballs since they fell apart in the pan. Otherwise, very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Very Very good! Meatballs were awesome, I cooked them low and slow in my deep skillet. I would suggest however to cut the brown sugar from a 1/2 Cup to a 1/4 Cup...it was just a bit sweet with the pinapple juice and pinapple chuncks. I served these with Orange Rice Medley and Sesame Broccoli (all recipes from this site). An asian flavored dinner without paying for take out. I would also like to mention this dish did take a bit more prep time than noted in the recipe...if you are in a hurry I would use a slow cooker or prep your veggies ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
loved this. soooo easy to do when you use boxed meatballs and a flavourwave. dinner is ready in 25 minutes. no green peppers, used pineapple tidbits and dumped it all into a saucepan, boiled it and added the meatballs. couldn't be easier served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States