Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Wow, this was really good! I made the meatballs and sauce early in the afternoon, baking the meatballs for 20 minutes at 350. I set out to make half the recipe, but I wanted to add more peppers and some onion and realized I wasn’t going to have enough sauce for all of that. So, I had to improvise a little and made half the meatballs but a full recipe of the sauce. I drained an 8 oz. can of pineapple tidbits and realized that I needed more liquid, so I added an equal amount of orange juice. I cut the brown sugar in half and it was still plenty sweet. I wanted my peppers and onions cooked to crisp tender, rather than just “heated through” so I sautéed them in a little olive oil first and then added the sauce and meatballs. I simmered that covered for a few minutes and then added the pineapple to heat through. I served this over jasmine rice and it was excellent! Both Hubs and I were very impressed. I used a mix of red, yellow, orange and green bell peppers, which resulted in a very colorful, delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
it was gone in a flash. everyone had seconds. the sauce is very tasty! easy and quick to make (do the meatballs in the oven as suggested, then you can prep the sauce), good for working mom's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was excellent! The only change I made was using oyster crackers instead of saltines. I realized that I had red and orange peppers in the house, but not green, and went with that. It added more color and flavor anyway. I went with white wine vinegar, instead of regular white, as I find it less strong and low-sodium soy sauce. For the beef I used 93% lean and it worked great. I was worried the sauce would have flavor but the meatballs wouldn't blend in well, but with the added ginger, they blend perfectly. I did use scant spoonfuls of the ginger, as I didn't want an overwhelming ginger taste, and it seemed to be the right amount. I served it with some lightly buttered rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by jenna4
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a fave recipe in our family. I've made it as written and also modified it to make it Paleo-friendly. To do that, I used cooked ground beef mixed with the sauce (with aminos instead of soy sauce) and serve it lettuce-cup style using butter lettuce. You do have to chop the pineapple and other ingredients a bit smaller to make it easier to eat. It's a good meal and also makes a good appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Surprisingly sweet and irresistible! They store well as leftovers too, if you are lucky enough to have any. Although, the tend to fall apart; better to bake em in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe is awesome! My kids love it. I will make this again and again, I made a double batch of the sauce because my husband likes a lot of juice. Although I did take advice from some of the others and cut the sugar down by half, and added two heaping tablespoons of apricot preserves, delicious: o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I love sweet food, but this was entirely too sweet. The underlying flavors were very promising, but next time I'm cutting the brown sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I am going to rate the sauce, because I used my own recipe for the meatballs. It was excellent! I used half the amount of sugar suggested, 1 whole bell pepper and half regular vinegar / half balsamic. Thanks for a new stapler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Sauce tasted watery sweet. If that makes sense. The meatballs were a bit bland. Strong taste of the ginger in the meatballs and that was it. No making this again. Its so nasty, and my husband and I are SO AGAINST wasting food but were throwing the pot full of this in the trash. I made 20 meatballs with this recipe and my husband and I had 2 meatballs each because we were so hungry. The rest of it is going in the garbage. Its the worst meatballs weve ever had! Im having a bowl of cereal now for dinner because I cant eat these meatballs! Im from Hawaii and its a disgrace to calls this recipe Waikiki Meatballs! My 3 year old said it was nasty! So disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndresMadre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Travis Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
YUMMY!!! Soooo deliciouss, i was a bit frustrated when i was cooking these meatballs since they were falling appart a bit but they tasted SO goood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States