Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
For the meatballs, I only used 1 tsp. ground ginger, and that was plenty for us, I grated the onion which made the meatballs more moist in my opinion. I, like other reviewers baked mine at 350 for 20 min. only because I wanted to use my toaster oven. I did saute the bell pepper and pineapple, on med/high just to brown slightly, for an added flavor. I used rice wine vinegar instead of white keeping with the asian profile. I also felt the 2 tbsp. of cornstarch was too much, making the sauce too thick so I added water to thin it out, I also added a little chicken base for added flavor. Next time I will start with one tbsp. of cornstarch and go from there. Very good recipe, thanks for posting CMAYBELL :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made these last minute because someone onte Buzz got me thinking about meatballs and this recipe at 4:00pm, lol I found the sauce just a bit sweet for my taste so I added about 2 more tsp. of soya sauce and a dash of worchestshire sauce. I also used dark brown sugar because I prefer it for a savory sauce. That is completely personal taste though. It was a really nice thick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These were really good & soo easy to make! I usually use another recipe similar to this with a lot more ingredients so this was a nice easy change! The only thing I did diffrently was use bread crumbs instead of crackers. Other than that followed the recipe exactly! I would double the sauce next time though! And to save dishes as other reviewers mentioned, bake meatballs at 350 for 20 minutes & bring sauce to a boil on stove top whisking out lumps of cornstarch. Then serve on white rice for a fantastic dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have been making these for years. Always delicious and always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Wow, this was really good! I made the meatballs and sauce early in the afternoon, baking the meatballs for 20 minutes at 350. I set out to make half the recipe, but I wanted to add more peppers and some onion and realized I wasn’t going to have enough sauce for all of that. So, I had to improvise a little and made half the meatballs but a full recipe of the sauce. I drained an 8 oz. can of pineapple tidbits and realized that I needed more liquid, so I added an equal amount of orange juice. I cut the brown sugar in half and it was still plenty sweet. I wanted my peppers and onions cooked to crisp tender, rather than just “heated through” so I sautéed them in a little olive oil first and then added the sauce and meatballs. I simmered that covered for a few minutes and then added the pineapple to heat through. I served this over jasmine rice and it was excellent! Both Hubs and I were very impressed. I used a mix of red, yellow, orange and green bell peppers, which resulted in a very colorful, delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
it was gone in a flash. everyone had seconds. the sauce is very tasty! easy and quick to make (do the meatballs in the oven as suggested, then you can prep the sauce), good for working mom's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was excellent! The only change I made was using oyster crackers instead of saltines. I realized that I had red and orange peppers in the house, but not green, and went with that. It added more color and flavor anyway. I went with white wine vinegar, instead of regular white, as I find it less strong and low-sodium soy sauce. For the beef I used 93% lean and it worked great. I was worried the sauce would have flavor but the meatballs wouldn't blend in well, but with the added ginger, they blend perfectly. I did use scant spoonfuls of the ginger, as I didn't want an overwhelming ginger taste, and it seemed to be the right amount. I served it with some lightly buttered rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by jenna4
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is a fave recipe in our family. I've made it as written and also modified it to make it Paleo-friendly. To do that, I used cooked ground beef mixed with the sauce (with aminos instead of soy sauce) and serve it lettuce-cup style using butter lettuce. You do have to chop the pineapple and other ingredients a bit smaller to make it easier to eat. It's a good meal and also makes a good appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Surprisingly sweet and irresistible! They store well as leftovers too, if you are lucky enough to have any. Although, the tend to fall apart; better to bake em in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe is awesome! My kids love it. I will make this again and again, I made a double batch of the sauce because my husband likes a lot of juice. Although I did take advice from some of the others and cut the sugar down by half, and added two heaping tablespoons of apricot preserves, delicious: o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States