Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Great recipe.. I just made a few changes: I used ground turkey instead of beef, I like to watch my sodium intake so I used low sodium soy sauce and unsalted top crakers. This made the recipe very good for people with high blood pressure. I also used Splenda brown sugar which made it low in calories. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I thought this was really good. I followed the recipe pretty close. I used a whole 20oz can of pineapple IN JUICE NOT SYRUP...i think some people used the ones that are in heavy syrup and that is why it was too sweet. I also used rice vinegar in place of white. I also used italian bread crumbs in place of the crackers and added garlic the the meat mixture. I also added big chunks of onion as well. Next time I think I will add some asian hot chili paste to the meat balls before cooking. I served this with fried rice from this site. I also cooked these in the oven. Great meal! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very easy and even my four-year-old liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Pretty good, I used chicken instead of the meatballs, it was just like sweet n sour chicken. Next time i will add more veggies and a little less pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Half my family loved and half not so much. It was easy and fast, a definite plus for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was an awesome recipe. Like everyone else this one is going to be a keeper. I also suggest cooking them in the oven vs over the stove. In the oven is healthier and less messy. It still tastes as great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
My husband and I really liked this. I dislike it when people change recipes on the first try...but I admit I did. I didn't have soy sauce so I used worchestershire...I didn't have onions so I used 2 teaspoons of onion salt...which I prefer because of texture. I also added a can and a half of La Choy Veggies (bean sprouts, water chestnuts, etc.) After the meat was brown, but not done I added the pineapple, peppers, and La Choy Veggies...then when those were hot and cooked thru, I added the glaze/sauce. I don't think any changes I made were "needed"...I just wanted a little more than peppers and pineapple to munch on when complete. It was terrific spooned over rice. I gave it 4 stars because I had wished the meatballs were more infused with flavor...but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Delicious! Put the meatballs with garlic added in the oven and included the carrot to the sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
These were really good. I would recommend doubling the ingredients for the sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I think this was pretty good, but i think the sauce was too sweet. it needs less sugar. also, the sauce does need to be doubled to make enough for the meatballs. i would suggest adding more seasonings to the meatballs. mine tasted more like meatloaf than meatballs. next time i will add more ginger, maybe a little cumin and parlsey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moondragunz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States