Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I think this was pretty good, but i think the sauce was too sweet. it needs less sugar. also, the sauce does need to be doubled to make enough for the meatballs. i would suggest adding more seasonings to the meatballs. mine tasted more like meatloaf than meatballs. next time i will add more ginger, maybe a little cumin and parlsey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moondragunz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
sorry but these were really bad...never again. I pretty much made them as written except I used bread crumbs instead of saltines and fresh ginger in place of the ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Delicious. My four kids loved it. I followed all the directions except I added only 1/3 cup of brown sugar, 1/3 cup vineagar and 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. It tasted great and was not too sweet. I followed the suggestions of some other reviewers: I baked the meatballs in the oven (350 F for 30 minutes) and made the sauce directly in a sauce pan. I served it with rice and steamed vegetables. I will be adding this to my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
A GREAT recipe. Am looking forward to trying slight variations (including the baking technique) but just as it is, it was a BIG HIT at our dinner table. Even the 7 year old ate it, and that's saying something at our house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Excellent. Meat balls could be slightly more spicier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Like other reviewers, I made some changes. I did bake them in a 350 degree oven for 25 mins, made the sauce on the stovetop and placed it all in a crockpot for simmering. I'm not a huge fan of "sweet" food, so I omitted the pineapples in the simmering process. I doubled the sauce (except for the brown sugar- only added 1/4c.). I added sliced carrots, 3 cloves of fresh sliced garlic and coarsely chopped onions to the sauce. I served it over brown rice and had fresh steamed green beans as a side item. My husband and 2 year old daughter loved it! I liked the meatball part of this recipe again, but not the sauce. I will make my own sauce or use someone else's sauce recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obgynrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Love this recipe. I used ground pork and onion powder in the meatballs and added chunks of onion with the bells and pineapple chunks. I also added more ginger and soy sauce to the sauce and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I like this very much. I always read the reviews and I agree about the doubling of the sauce and cutting back on the sugar. This was very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
They were wonderful!! I made these last night. Thinking I would only have five of us eating, I changed the recipe to serve 8. Good thing I did. As soon as my other kids found out what I was making, they stayed to try them. Even my most pickiest eater, (9 year old), loved them. Looks like this will be a weekly dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I really loved this and so did my husband and kids. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States