Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This sweet 'n sour sauce is absolutely divine. I served this with "Orange Rice Medley" from this site and it made for the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I cut this down to 4 servings so I could use 1 pound of meat (we don't eat ground beef, so I used ground turkey instead), but I used the full amount of sauce ingredients. I worried about the sauce being too sweet, so I cut back on the brown sugar and I was glad I did. After frying the meatballs, I sauteed the bell pepper for a few minutes so it would be a little more tender, then I deglazed the pan with about 1/4 cup of chicken broth before adding the rest of the sauce ingredients. I served it over white rice cooked in chicken broth. Overall, it was pretty good with less brown sugar, but the meatballs do need a bit more seasoning. I'll make these again, but I'll add some salt and pepper to the meatballs and definitely add more bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I baked them as well and my family loved it. It could use more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
They were ok, but nothing special. Probably wouldn't make them again. Really sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very tasty! Next time I think I'll add more veggies, love the peppers, used both red and green. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I took the advice of others and baked the meatballs at 350 for 20 minutes. I let the sauce simmer in the meantime, with the green pepper included (we like it more cooked than raw). We loved the flavor of the meatballs with the sauce. We like pineapple, but all agreed that the chunks were a little bit overwhelming...next time I will try tidbits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
way to sweeet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was a hit - I used turkey meatballs and with the bell peppers I added onion. Used less vinegar as other users mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very delicious and easy to make. Served over rice is close to perfect. I added a chopped red bell pepper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelev40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States