Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Lorraine Ragsdale
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
i made this for a company christmas party. it was a big hit! i leave out the vinegar and use more pineapple juice & soy sauce. it is my favorite meal my mom always made it when i lived at home. she used to mince the bell pepper and include it with the meatballs which adds more flavor to the meat. anyway, big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Ragsdale
Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Absolutely Delicious!! My husband and daughters are very picky eaters and they LOVED it!! The only change I made was using a red bell pepper instead of a green pepper. Everything else in the recipe I kept exactly the same. This is definitely a new family favorite...and sooo easy to make!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These meatballs were really good! My 7-year-old daughter loved them. However, she didn't care for the sauce, so I left some meatballs out of the sauce just for her. I cooked them on a foil-lined, sprayed cookie sheet in the oven rather than on the stove (at 350 F for about 30 minutes - I had made them pretty large).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Wellington, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
If you consider this recipe bland, saute 1 sliced and seeded jalapeño pepper with the green bell pepper. The heat infuses into the sauce and the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was so good, my husband loves sweet and sour and really liked these meatball. I will put them in the oven next time as some people have said, sounds a lot less messy. I did not have enough sauce for the rice so I ended up adding a can of beefy mushroom soup, gave me much more sauce for the rice and added even more flavor. I frooze the left overs for another meal, since there is just the two of us. Just need to make the rice for the left overs, how easy is that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This recipe was easy to follow and simple to make. The meatballs were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Blah...need I say more. I did not eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This sweet 'n sour sauce is absolutely divine. I served this with "Orange Rice Medley" from this site and it made for the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I cut this down to 4 servings so I could use 1 pound of meat (we don't eat ground beef, so I used ground turkey instead), but I used the full amount of sauce ingredients. I worried about the sauce being too sweet, so I cut back on the brown sugar and I was glad I did. After frying the meatballs, I sauteed the bell pepper for a few minutes so it would be a little more tender, then I deglazed the pan with about 1/4 cup of chicken broth before adding the rest of the sauce ingredients. I served it over white rice cooked in chicken broth. Overall, it was pretty good with less brown sugar, but the meatballs do need a bit more seasoning. I'll make these again, but I'll add some salt and pepper to the meatballs and definitely add more bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States