Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
With the recipe followed as written, it's delicious! However, baking the meatballs instead of frying them is easier - the grease self-drains and I don't have to worry about squishing/breaking my meatballs while turning them. (20 minutes @ 350 degrees)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was not a good recipe. The meatballs turned out mushy. I LOVE the idea of meatballs in a sweet teriyaki-like sauce but this is not the one you want. The ginger and milk just ruined any chance of good flavor. I should have know better. Next time I will make my own meatball recipe and put them in a different sauce as this recipe didn't make nearly enough sauce. Just very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Baisch-Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My family loves these meatballs! I use ground turkey and a mix of red and green peppers to add some color. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
OMG. Eat them all myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I'm not in to sweet & sour but hubby is. He came back for seconds and said it I could make it again and quite frankly I thought it was good too. The other two adults in the house said it was too sweet. The 1 1/2 year old ate it up. I didn't think the meatballs were anything spectacular more like meatloaf but they were moist and most of mine held together well. I made five pounds of meat so I could have some leftover meatballs for lunches which was about two frying pans full of large meatballs. I withheld one pan of meatballs from the sauce. With that I tripled the sauce which was just about right for one pan of good size meatballs. So I would definitely double the sauce with recipe as written. I bought 20 oz sweetened pineapple chunks and used all the juice from both cans (I tripled the sauce) and about 1 1/2 cans of pineapple chunks. Next time I will buy one sweetened and one unsweetened and see if that doesn't fix the sweet issue and I may cut back on the pineapple chunks too. Adding another table spoon of soy sauce and maybe unpacked brown sugar may also help. I will probably keep looking for a meatball recipe and tweak this one a bit, but this was a pretty quick meal that will be added to our once every two months rotation. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Really good, doubled the sauce needed fresh ginger instead of dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good! Didn't make any adjustments, except what others suggested & baked the meatballs. I did brown them first though. Other than that, my husband & I thought it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Delicious exactly as posted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
love this recipe! Very fast and easy made with purchased home style meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cosgrovecafe
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Used the oven cooking method. But cooked for 23/25 minutes just to make sure they were cooked. Make your meatballs small. I think I'm gonna add snow peas next time maybe carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States