Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Pretty good..left out the ginger and doubled the sauce. Next time will probably use less sugar but triple the sauce. I also added red and green bell peppers with onions. All in all I will make again. Its also good with added pepper flakes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I've been making this recipe for over 30 years. Well, I don't do a lot differently after all these years, but I do add water chestnuts to the veggiesand a heaping tablespoon of garlic-chili paste to the sauce for a little "kick." I recommend that, honestly, it's a great addition and doesn't majorly interfere with the "intended" effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
With the recipe followed as written, it's delicious! However, baking the meatballs instead of frying them is easier - the grease self-drains and I don't have to worry about squishing/breaking my meatballs while turning them. (20 minutes @ 350 degrees)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was not a good recipe. The meatballs turned out mushy. I LOVE the idea of meatballs in a sweet teriyaki-like sauce but this is not the one you want. The ginger and milk just ruined any chance of good flavor. I should have know better. Next time I will make my own meatball recipe and put them in a different sauce as this recipe didn't make nearly enough sauce. Just very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Baisch-Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My family loves these meatballs! I use ground turkey and a mix of red and green peppers to add some color. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
OMG. Eat them all myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I'm not in to sweet & sour but hubby is. He came back for seconds and said it I could make it again and quite frankly I thought it was good too. The other two adults in the house said it was too sweet. The 1 1/2 year old ate it up. I didn't think the meatballs were anything spectacular more like meatloaf but they were moist and most of mine held together well. I made five pounds of meat so I could have some leftover meatballs for lunches which was about two frying pans full of large meatballs. I withheld one pan of meatballs from the sauce. With that I tripled the sauce which was just about right for one pan of good size meatballs. So I would definitely double the sauce with recipe as written. I bought 20 oz sweetened pineapple chunks and used all the juice from both cans (I tripled the sauce) and about 1 1/2 cans of pineapple chunks. Next time I will buy one sweetened and one unsweetened and see if that doesn't fix the sweet issue and I may cut back on the pineapple chunks too. Adding another table spoon of soy sauce and maybe unpacked brown sugar may also help. I will probably keep looking for a meatball recipe and tweak this one a bit, but this was a pretty quick meal that will be added to our once every two months rotation. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Really good, doubled the sauce needed fresh ginger instead of dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good! Didn't make any adjustments, except what others suggested & baked the meatballs. I did brown them first though. Other than that, my husband & I thought it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Delicious exactly as posted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States