Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I used frozen meatballs instead of the recipe given. I also added red pepper flakes per someone elses suggestion and I added fresh ginger. This was so sweet we can not eat it. I did everything else according to the directions and it just simply is way to sweet. If I had used 1/4 of the sugar we may had liked it but I seriously doubt I will ever make it again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very good recipe- only thing I did different was make the meatballs and bake them in the oven on a cookie sheet lined w/ foil for easy clean up. Also, added some cut up sweet vidalia onion along w/ the pepper and pineapple. A keeper- will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I didn't love these, mainly the meatballs were bland - I really think because of the saltines. Yet DH liked them which is interesting because he's not a fan of meatballs. But I will try again using Ritz I think - and maybe either fresh ginger or more ground ginger. I did use more peppers and sauteed them before making the sauce, I used a 20oz can of pineapple chunks so only 1/4c brown sugar because of the added sweetness from the pineapples. We liked the sauce very much, I wasn't crazy about the meatballs but worth working with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Pretty good, the kids ate it with no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
He who never gets his way loved this. I make the peppers and onions in a seperate pan with a little evoo and toss in with mine later no onions in the meatballs. Except for that one change recipe stays the same. Wonderful, Thanks for the recipe CMAYBELL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
For the meatballs, I only used 1 tsp. ground ginger, and that was plenty for us, I grated the onion which made the meatballs more moist in my opinion. I, like other reviewers baked mine at 350 for 20 min. only because I wanted to use my toaster oven. I did saute the bell pepper and pineapple, on med/high just to brown slightly, for an added flavor. I used rice wine vinegar instead of white keeping with the asian profile. I also felt the 2 tbsp. of cornstarch was too much, making the sauce too thick so I added water to thin it out, I also added a little chicken base for added flavor. Next time I will start with one tbsp. of cornstarch and go from there. Very good recipe, thanks for posting CMAYBELL :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made these last minute because someone onte Buzz got me thinking about meatballs and this recipe at 4:00pm, lol I found the sauce just a bit sweet for my taste so I added about 2 more tsp. of soya sauce and a dash of worchestshire sauce. I also used dark brown sugar because I prefer it for a savory sauce. That is completely personal taste though. It was a really nice thick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These were really good & soo easy to make! I usually use another recipe similar to this with a lot more ingredients so this was a nice easy change! The only thing I did diffrently was use bread crumbs instead of crackers. Other than that followed the recipe exactly! I would double the sauce next time though! And to save dishes as other reviewers mentioned, bake meatballs at 350 for 20 minutes & bring sauce to a boil on stove top whisking out lumps of cornstarch. Then serve on white rice for a fantastic dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have been making these for years. Always delicious and always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Wow, this was really good! I made the meatballs and sauce early in the afternoon, baking the meatballs for 20 minutes at 350. I set out to make half the recipe, but I wanted to add more peppers and some onion and realized I wasn’t going to have enough sauce for all of that. So, I had to improvise a little and made half the meatballs but a full recipe of the sauce. I drained an 8 oz. can of pineapple tidbits and realized that I needed more liquid, so I added an equal amount of orange juice. I cut the brown sugar in half and it was still plenty sweet. I wanted my peppers and onions cooked to crisp tender, rather than just “heated through” so I sautéed them in a little olive oil first and then added the sauce and meatballs. I simmered that covered for a few minutes and then added the pineapple to heat through. I served this over jasmine rice and it was excellent! Both Hubs and I were very impressed. I used a mix of red, yellow, orange and green bell peppers, which resulted in a very colorful, delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States