Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These were very good. I'm not sure I'm crazy about the ginger flavor of the meatballs, and I even used 2 lbs of hamburger and did not increase the ginger. I cooked the meatballs in the oven at 400 for about 1/2 hr. I also cooked the green pepper before adding to the sauce as I don't like raw green peppers. I doubled the sauce and it came out fine even though I wasn't sure about the amounts since I could only find the pineapple in 20oz cans instead of 15oz cans. A little sweet but we didn't mind that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was quite delicious until I put them in the crockpot to keep warm! Don't do that! The steam waters it down. Bummer for my dinner. Wish I had stuck with keeping it in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tearose84

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This has been a regular family recipe since I can remember. We use bread crumbs instead of crackers and double the sauce. I tried baking the meatballs as others suggested, but prefer the flavor of pan seared meatballs (without the oil), though you need to be attentive, regularly turning them in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I really liked the sauce but the meatballs were heavy and had very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethface

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was surprisingly good! I made two batches and froze one for later. I just dumped it into a large saucepan with a lid and heated it up. Turned out great! My 8 yr old helped me roll the meatballs and was very proud of her success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I frequently make this dish for dinner. It is a favorite for both myself and my husband. I feel I must finally give it a review. The only change I make is baking the meatballs. I've never actually tried to cook the meatballs in the skillet. It's just so easy to just stick them in the oven. Wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is from Betty Crocker's Red cookbook and we grew up eating it. And loving it! I usually double the sauce and use whatever citrus juice I have on hand to make up the difference. For some extra veggies I toss in matchstick carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
wow where has this reciepe been all my life. It was fantastic. Great taste made a bunch. I made it just the reciepe stated and was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Everyone really enjoyed these meatballs. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Next time I'd rather use ground turkey and bread crumbs. The meatballs needed more flavor - maybe try adding some oregano and garlic powder?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My son really liked this, but my husband did not. I'll have to wait for my son to return from college before I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States