Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is actually an old recipe given to me by a friend of mine. When you get to the sauce, sometimes it comes out a little thick after cooking. Unless you happen to have pineapple juice on hand, add about 1/4-1/2 C of orange juice to thin the sauce. Excellent! You can also substitute leaner beef and/or mix with ground turkey for a healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Love LOVE LOVE this recipe! Its awesome and gives you something differnt to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandamathis57
Living In: Marble, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
These were a big hit at a luncheon recently. All the ladies loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nesconset, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is deelish, the clan really liked it, even the picky one. Only changes made--due to preference--meatballs were ground chix and pork, used 2 red bells and 1 green, doubled sauce with a tad more Bragg's Amino Acids (we use that instead of soy sauce) and added a purple onion. Wow! Was very pretty on a bed rice. I will be making this again, idk why i waited so long! ;O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Good recipe, I some times add waterchestnuts, and, or snowpeas. I serve them with rice, egg roll and a toss salad with Oriental salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Furball40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These were very good. I'm not sure I'm crazy about the ginger flavor of the meatballs, and I even used 2 lbs of hamburger and did not increase the ginger. I cooked the meatballs in the oven at 400 for about 1/2 hr. I also cooked the green pepper before adding to the sauce as I don't like raw green peppers. I doubled the sauce and it came out fine even though I wasn't sure about the amounts since I could only find the pineapple in 20oz cans instead of 15oz cans. A little sweet but we didn't mind that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was quite delicious until I put them in the crockpot to keep warm! Don't do that! The steam waters it down. Bummer for my dinner. Wish I had stuck with keeping it in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tearose84

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This has been a regular family recipe since I can remember. We use bread crumbs instead of crackers and double the sauce. I tried baking the meatballs as others suggested, but prefer the flavor of pan seared meatballs (without the oil), though you need to be attentive, regularly turning them in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I really liked the sauce but the meatballs were heavy and had very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethface

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was surprisingly good! I made two batches and froze one for later. I just dumped it into a large saucepan with a lid and heated it up. Turned out great! My 8 yr old helped me roll the meatballs and was very proud of her success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States