Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
My kids absolutely love this recipe! To healthy it up a bit I use 1 lb of ground turkey or chicken in place of beef and add 1-2T of wheat germ in place of some of the saltine crumbs (which I always use bread crumbs). I also usually don't need to use the milk if I only use one lb of meat or at least I add bread crumbs until I get a good constancy so I don't need it. I grate the onion and ginger on the large pores of a regular grater (after a bad microplane incident w/ ginger! :) ). I also add grated carrots, use about 1/2 the brown sugar and serve over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Made this recipe exactly as stated and it was by far the worst thing I've ever had. The kids were grossed out by the overly sweet flavor and refused to eat it after the first bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
VERY good :). Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Double the sauce and pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Used 2 lbs deer burger instead of hamburger and bread crumbs instead of crackers. I baked the meatballs for 22 min at 350 degrees instead of frying. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
These were delicious after a little bit of tweaking. I don't think I've ever made meatballs without some garlic, so I felt the need to add one large clove of minced along with a teaspoon of soy sauce, replacing the 1/2 teaspoon of salt, in the meat mixture. I also upped the amount of peppers used in the sauce and par-cooked them along with some chopped onion. I baked the meatballs instead of frying (350° for 22 minutes, flipping them halfway through the baking). Served over white rice. Next time I think I'll double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Yum! Loved this with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was a very yummy dinner, very much like what I remember back in the 60's... Sometimes it's nice to go down memory lane. I cheated a bit and used frozen meatballs from the supermarket but added more veggies - onions, red pepper and celery. It was delicious! The sauce turned out very well... A great choice for dinner and/or potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I substituted Johnsonville reduced fat pork & chicken Italian sausage for the ground beef and these were INCREDIBLE! The spices in the sausage add an extra layer of savory to the sweet sauce and my family absolutely loved it. I won't make it any other way now! Try it, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
A nice change from a traditional meatball. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States