Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
These were delicious after a little bit of tweaking. I don't think I've ever made meatballs without some garlic, so I felt the need to add one large clove of minced along with a teaspoon of soy sauce, replacing the 1/2 teaspoon of salt, in the meat mixture. I also upped the amount of peppers used in the sauce and par-cooked them along with some chopped onion. I baked the meatballs instead of frying (350° for 22 minutes, flipping them halfway through the baking). Served over white rice. Next time I think I'll double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Yum! Loved this with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was a very yummy dinner, very much like what I remember back in the 60's... Sometimes it's nice to go down memory lane. I cheated a bit and used frozen meatballs from the supermarket but added more veggies - onions, red pepper and celery. It was delicious! The sauce turned out very well... A great choice for dinner and/or potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I substituted Johnsonville reduced fat pork & chicken Italian sausage for the ground beef and these were INCREDIBLE! The spices in the sausage add an extra layer of savory to the sweet sauce and my family absolutely loved it. I won't make it any other way now! Try it, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
A nice change from a traditional meatball. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
So yummy! I've never had sweet and sour meatballs before but now these will become a regular meal for us. Super easy to make. I cooked meatballs in oven as other reviews advised. Added crushed red pepper to sauce which I think added a great dimension to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I followed this recipes pretty close, but used fresh ginger and assorted peppers. It was alright. The sauce had a strong flavor and the meatballs were a little bland. My step son loved it (but he's a teenager and they'll pretty much eat anything!), I thought it was alright. I may make it again. Wasn't awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna Bourke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
For us this was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I have to give this a five because my husband LOVED these. The sauce thickened up perfectly. We omitted the pineapple chunks at the end and added more peppers (we love peppers in everything) and followed everyhting else. We used venicin, since my husband loves to hunt, and they did not taste gamey at all. I will def make again for him. We made white rice and poured over for a waikiki meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I thought this was OK. It reminded me of church potlucks and grandma's party food. My husband didn't like the sauce at all. He took his plate to the sink and rinsed the sauce off of his meatballs. I might use the meatball recipe again, but use a different sauce, BBQ perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States