Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I'm not in to sweet & sour but hubby is. He came back for seconds and said it I could make it again and quite frankly I thought it was good too. The other two adults in the house said it was too sweet. The 1 1/2 year old ate it up. I didn't think the meatballs were anything spectacular more like meatloaf but they were moist and most of mine held together well. I made five pounds of meat so I could have some leftover meatballs for lunches which was about two frying pans full of large meatballs. I withheld one pan of meatballs from the sauce. With that I tripled the sauce which was just about right for one pan of good size meatballs. So I would definitely double the sauce with recipe as written. I bought 20 oz sweetened pineapple chunks and used all the juice from both cans (I tripled the sauce) and about 1 1/2 cans of pineapple chunks. Next time I will buy one sweetened and one unsweetened and see if that doesn't fix the sweet issue and I may cut back on the pineapple chunks too. Adding another table spoon of soy sauce and maybe unpacked brown sugar may also help. I will probably keep looking for a meatball recipe and tweak this one a bit, but this was a pretty quick meal that will be added to our once every two months rotation. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Really good, doubled the sauce needed fresh ginger instead of dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good! Didn't make any adjustments, except what others suggested & baked the meatballs. I did brown them first though. Other than that, my husband & I thought it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Delicious exactly as posted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
love this recipe! Very fast and easy made with purchased home style meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cosgrovecafe
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Used the oven cooking method. But cooked for 23/25 minutes just to make sure they were cooked. Make your meatballs small. I think I'm gonna add snow peas next time maybe carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I've been making this for years at all potlucks I attend. I do make some altercations. I use turkey instead of meat, and ground onion instead of minced. I also use plain bread crumbs instead of crackers. and I let it sit in a crock pot on simmer to stay warm and people just grab them with toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Franceska Brown
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Made this tonight u like it. Did not have green peppers, used red yellow and orange instead. My daughter really liked the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franceska Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
We make this all the time. However instead of meatballs sometimes I use chicken that I cut up fry in a little oil and I use steak cut up and fried in oil (olive oil). We serve it over rice then. It's always been a favorite while my kids were growing up and now it's a favorite they serve to their families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comanche, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
My kids absolutely love this recipe! To healthy it up a bit I use 1 lb of ground turkey or chicken in place of beef and add 1-2T of wheat germ in place of some of the saltine crumbs (which I always use bread crumbs). I also usually don't need to use the milk if I only use one lb of meat or at least I add bread crumbs until I get a good constancy so I don't need it. I grate the onion and ginger on the large pores of a regular grater (after a bad microplane incident w/ ginger! :) ). I also add grated carrots, use about 1/2 the brown sugar and serve over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States