Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This was like eating a moist cake. Very delicious. If it weren't so crumbly, I would call it the perfect cornbread. I definitely will make this one again. Thanks. You can also try it this way, it's less crumbly and still good: 3 cups Bisquick, 2 cups milk, 1 1/4 cup sugar, 3 eggs, 2 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp vanilla. It's a Filipino receipe for Bibinka NOT cornbread but tastes the same as this recipe with a lot less crumbs. You can add drops of creamcheese on top and sprinkle with sugar before cooking. Yummy. I'm eating it right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Sweet, moist, cake-like cornbread that's absolutely fabulous! Plus it's so easy to put together using buttermilk baking mix (a.k.a Bisquick)! I did "tweak" this a bit to get more of a cornbread flavor. I used 2 & 1/2 cups of buttermilk baking mix and 3/4 cup of cornmeal. I do like a sweet cornbread, but I did cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup and it was plenty sweet. I used 1 cup of buttermilk vs. milk and it baked up nice and golden brown in more like 35 minutes. This was oh so buttery and moist served nice and warm. The leftovers are great for breakfast served with jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
When I lived in Hawaii, we used to eat at the Yum Yum Tree restaurant specifically because their cornbread was so exceptional. If this isn't their cornbread recipe, it's remarkably similar--and every bit as good. Every time I make this cornbread, folks ask me for the recipe. It's simply the best cornbread I've ever tasted. I think if you try it, you'll agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
I'll never make this again! I ate almost all of it by myself! This tastes like a good moist cake. My kids liked what little they got to taste. It gets moister as it sits. It's a little crumbly at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This was delicious. I've been looking for a sweet cornbread recipe. I was a bit unsure of what was meant by "buttermilk baking mix." Maybe pancake mix? I used Bisquick and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
This was really good. Although I wasn't sure what was meant by buttermilk baking mix either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 25, 2001
First time was a flop. I tried this a second time and it was outstanding! One of our favorites. Everyone is asking for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
Oh my gosh! This is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
It was Da Bomb!!! This was my first time making corn bread other than the Jiffy way. It was a hit my lady loved it. I was impressed. Definately a winner. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Here are the changes I made on this recipe to make it lower in fat & calories (there was no way I could bring myself to use a cup of butter! Yikes!)As another suggested I reduced the baking mix (reduced fat) to 2 1/4 C. and incr. the cornmeal to 1 cup. I decreased the sugar to 3/4 c,substituted Egg Beaters for one of the 3 eggs, and used 1/4 c. melted butter & 1/2 c. Lite sourcream. They were very moist! To make 18 muffins fill "Pam" sprayed cups with 1/4 c. of batter and bake for 18-20 min. These were fantastic fresh out of the oven, and I'm anxious to see if they're even better tomorrow with my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States