Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I used Buttermilk Pancake mix instead of Buttermilk Baking mix. Wasn't sure if this was what they were going for - but tell you what...it turned out awesome - so oh well! Yummy! Very Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I hate cornbread...BUT NOT THIS ONE. It is just awesome served with chili or ham and beans. Not dry and grainy like most cornbread. I made the adjustments using less mix, more cornmeal and people raved about it. Definately a keeper recipe. It is soooo easy and is great left over the next day too. It is crumbly but just let it fall in with the chili and it is delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Best cornbread recipe ever! I highly reccommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I also changed the cornmeal to 1 cup and baking mix to 2 1/4 C. I thought it was too sweet..the next time I will only add 1/2 c. sugar. It was better than any other cornbread I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
people who hate cornbread have asked me to make this just for them. excellent. i use about 1c cornmeal though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I'm giving this 5 stars because it tasted so darn good, but be forewarned, it is ~not~ your traditional cornbread. It's very, very much like cake. And delicious! It would be good crumbled on top of chili, that's what we had it with. It was rather crumbly, I don't know how to fix that. But I will definitely halve the recipe and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This is the best cornbread I have ever had. My husband couldn't get enough of this. He even took some to work to share with some coworkers and they loved it too. I followed everything exactly, but used 2% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My husband can't get enough of this stuff. I followed the advice of several other reviewers and decreased the baking mix to 2 1/4 cup and increased the cornmeal to 1 cup. I use store brand baking mix and it was wonderful. We serve this crumbled over sausage and shrimp jambalaya. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Oh, wow - this is the best cornbread ever! I made this to go with our annual Christmas Eve stew, and it was the first thing to go! Everyone kept commenting that it was like cake (as they went back for 2nd and 3rd helpings). I followed the recipe exactly, and it was perfect. This is now my official cornbread recipe - I'm making another batch tomorrow to go with our New Years Day black-eyed pea soup (recipe also from this site). Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Bow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Tastes like cake. We enjoyed it. Hard to eat like normal cornbread because it's so crumbly. But it was great crumbled over chili. I do like more corn flaver in my cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States