Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This cornbread is awesome! I followed the recipe precisely (used salted butter not margarine) and 1/2 percent milk. It came out great! Very cake like and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Flavor more than good, it was EXCELLENT! The only downside, it’s way to crumbly. As others, I used 2 1/4 cups mix, and 1 cup cornmeal. I did decide to refrigerate, and it held together better. Next time, I think I will add even more cornmeal. This recipe needs a little TLC, so only 4 stars…the taste definitely deserves 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Really great, I'm not a big cornbread fan but we made chili an this went so well with it! Definitley recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
We went to a friend's house for chili, and I brought this cornbread. It was a HUGE hit. I'm not a very experienced cook, so I was a little apprehensive about some of the ingredients at the store. I saw Buttermilk pancake mix and Buttermilk biscuit mix -- I looked at the ingredients in both and wasn't sure which one to use. Then I didn't know whether I was supposed to get "self-rising" yellow corn meal or not. There were cornbread recipes on the back of both kinds of corn meal, so I was really confused. Finally, my husband had salted butter on hand, but I didn't know whether to use that or unsalted butter. I ended up using Bisquick buttermilk pancake mix, self-rising yellow corn meal, and unsalted butter. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this cornbread last year for Thanksgiving (which was held at my home). This year I had soooo many request for me to make this again that I could not say no. I made it, and the funny thing is that everyone ate it before the dinner was even served!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Holy Moly! What a delicious dish! I made this dish for Thanksgiving last year and people gobbled it up and loved it! So sweet and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
The cornbread tastes great. It has good flavor, good consistency, and it is best served warm. Like some of the other reviewers, I am picky with cornbread, but this one simply tasted better than all of the other cornbreads I have tried in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
If you like a sweet cornbread, this is wonderful. It does have a more cake like texture rather than crumbly. I used non-fat milk rather than whole and it came out fine. It is very buttery and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I think there's too much sugar in this recipe. It stuck to the pan pretty badly. I would suggest that you grease and flour the pan very well. Once I got it out of the pan, it was delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Although I changed the recipe somewhat, I am giving this 5 stars based on the texture of the finished product and the versatility of the recipe. I used less sugar, more corn meal, and less butter. Next time I will use even less sugar and more corn meal. I love the cake-like, tender quality; my husband prefers old-fashioned cornbread & said he did not care for this (although I did notice he ate 2 hunks) but I will definitely make it again. I paired it with Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili from this site, and what a great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States