Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is similar to the cornbread our sorority house cook used to make. We LOVED it and would fight over it. Hers had less baking powder (1 t.) and cornmeal (3 T.) and more milk (1 1/2 C.). Maybe that makes it less crumbly because I don't have that problem. Everyone who tastes it asks for the recipe. One family friend even made it a new tradition at her house for Thanksgiving. But it is sweet-- I even eat it with ice cream sometimes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is the best! Everyone loved it, even the kids! My hubby is not a fan of cornbread-I had to force him to try it and he loved it! We ate it with Boilermaker Tailgate Chili from this site. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela hardison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunland, California, USA
Living In: Kingston Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Delicious. By far the best tasting cornbread ever. Crumbly though....but I can work around that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Convent, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very quick and easy, light texture, although I did add extra cornmeal. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This is very good, it tastes similar to Marie Callender's cornbread mix. I stopped making homemade because I like the cake texture. I will make this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Absolutely wonderful. My family loves this corn bread. It tastes like there's a bit of pineapple juice in it, but there isn't. Very light and crumbly. I used only 3/4 c. sugar, 3/4 c. Egg Beaters and 1 c. of canola oil in place of the melted butter. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I don't understand why some reviewers here said this was not corny enough. It was exceptional! I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Not traditional but very easy and tasty. I halved the recipe and doubled the cornmeal to make it more "corny". Didn't have any problem with crumbling. Served with Hawaiian Style Chili from this site that we like very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
There are only a few recipes that my family would consider 5 Star, but this is one of them! Easy prep for me and my family enjoyed every bite. This cornbread is dense, moist, buttery and yummy, with a nice sweetness and a crumbly texture. It was still delicious and moist the next day, when I reheated and served the leftovers. I'd recommend this recipe to anyone looking for an easy to prepare, sweet cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I will never make another cornbread! This tastes great crumbled into chili or bean soup. It has one awards at my church chili cook-off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States