Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This Waikiki Cornbread was the best cornbread I have ever made. It was perfect. My kids and husband said to make this one again. I did not have baking mix so for each cup of flour I added 1 1/2 tea of baking power and 1/2 tea salt and 1 tablespoon butter. I followed everything else as stated in the recipe except, lastly, folding in 2 cups of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Very nice recipe. We liked the crunch of the cornmeal and next time I will add more. Try it toasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
We really enjoyed this - very simple and easy to make, great flavor without being dry and crumbly like so many cornbreads are. I used Bisquik and added about 3T of buttermilk powder, I added about 3T extra cornbread too. To avoid having it crumble and break apart, allow it to sit for about 10 minutes from the oven, slice and allow to rest another 8-10 minutes before removing from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Is is weird to say that this cornbread is...fun? It is, though! I had to substitute some non-fat buttermilk for the milk in the orig recipe, and I use a popular light margarine brand instead of butter. (Bisquik or other pancake/baking mix for the buttermilk mix.) I baked in two 8x8" brownie pans for 24 minutes. They are perfect! Sweet but not too sweet, just a hint of tanginess from the buttermilk I used, light texture, great pale color... everybody loves it. This would be great with butter and syrup for breakfast and it was awesome with my spicy chili, too. A wonderful recipe, I am so glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is the best sweet, cake-like cornbread! Not a dense, savory variety so try a different recipe if that's your preference. I halved the recipe but still used 2 eggs and had no problem with crumbliness. Delicious with white chicken chili II (this site) and just as good the next 2 days with leftovers and breakfast. Surpisingly full corn flavor for just an 1/8 cup (in half recipe) of cornmeal. My half recipe fit perfectly in a deep 8x8 square pan & looked as good as it tasted. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
The best cornbread I've ever tasted- husband, kids, friends all agree! But beware - it does not keep well. Two days, tops, but it's so delicious it will be easy to eat immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I tried this last night and it was great!! Perfect recipe. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I'm so glad that I was pointed to this recipe while looking at the reviews for White Chicken Chili I--this was the perfect side dish for that. It was surprising that cornbread could be both moist AND crumbly, but the crumbliness was just right for soup. I even almost messed this up by forgetting to add the cornmeal! As I was putting it in the oven, I realized "something" was missing--I just stirred it in and it came out great, anyway. I used bisqick, as I figured that was what it was calling for and I halved the recipe (used 2 whole eggs, though) and put it in an 8x8 pan. This isgoing to be my go-to cornbread recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is similar to the cornbread our sorority house cook used to make. We LOVED it and would fight over it. Hers had less baking powder (1 t.) and cornmeal (3 T.) and more milk (1 1/2 C.). Maybe that makes it less crumbly because I don't have that problem. Everyone who tastes it asks for the recipe. One family friend even made it a new tradition at her house for Thanksgiving. But it is sweet-- I even eat it with ice cream sometimes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is the best! Everyone loved it, even the kids! My hubby is not a fan of cornbread-I had to force him to try it and he loved it! We ate it with Boilermaker Tailgate Chili from this site. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunland, California, USA
Living In: Kingston Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States