Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Hands down this is the best cornbread we've ever had! I ate more cornbread for dinner than I did chili! I love that I had all the ingredients on hand! No more boxed mixes for us! Cant wait to give the rest of the family a taste! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookityPoo
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My family thinks this is the best cornbread ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was delicious, and very easy to make. It was very crumbly though, and difficult to serve nicely. I made it twice-once I added some frozen cooked corn, which made it more intesting. Worth making, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paul
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this cornbread and loved it! However, I did bake it in a pre-heated cast iron skillet that browned it on the bottom edge- delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this to go with Dad's Cheesy Bacon Wrapped Meat Loaf when I realized at the last minute I didn't have any potatoes. I used a homemade whole wheat white baking mix that I make myself and upped the baking soda to a full tablespoon. I also used buttermilk and organic eggs. This is a really sweet cornbread for those who like a real bread-y cornbread with a hint of corn. My men enjoyed it and the little bit I had I loved. This was a great recipe for my littlest and I to make together, too. My only issue was how fall-apart-y it was. Anyone else have that issue? You take a bite and the whole piece would fall to pieces in your plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I don't really approve of others customizing someone's recipe, we should just write our own but I'm excusing my own rule here. The recipe sounded great but in the midst of it, I added twice the cornmeal (white), vanilla and added a couple of tablespoons of the powdered buttermilk baking mix by Sago into the milk. Served with my 15 bean soup and a dash of Habanero sauce.It was wonderful. Kudos to the author of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reno1195

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Still on the search for the perfect cornbread. Way too crumbly and blah for my family. Not worth a whole c of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Cass Lewandowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was good, and my husband loved it. However, I prefer "cornier" cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is not "cornbread" in the traditional sense, but it is outstanding. Cornbread is normally quite nutritious, but this is more like yellow cake (there's only a 1/4 cup cornmeal in the entire recipe). I will make this again for a delicious change of pace, but not too often because I felt so guilty eating/serving it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was definitely very yummy! Although, my husband and I were looking more for the "crunchy" cornbread texture. This was more like a cake mix. Next time I'll add more cornmeal to it. If you put a little whipped cream and strawberries on top, it could be used as a good dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States