Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Flavor more than good, it was EXCELLENT! The only downside, it’s way to crumbly. As others, I used 2 1/4 cups mix, and 1 cup cornmeal. I did decide to refrigerate, and it held together better. Next time, I think I will add even more cornmeal. This recipe needs a little TLC, so only 4 stars…the taste definitely deserves 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Really great, I'm not a big cornbread fan but we made chili an this went so well with it! Definitley recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
We went to a friend's house for chili, and I brought this cornbread. It was a HUGE hit. I'm not a very experienced cook, so I was a little apprehensive about some of the ingredients at the store. I saw Buttermilk pancake mix and Buttermilk biscuit mix -- I looked at the ingredients in both and wasn't sure which one to use. Then I didn't know whether I was supposed to get "self-rising" yellow corn meal or not. There were cornbread recipes on the back of both kinds of corn meal, so I was really confused. Finally, my husband had salted butter on hand, but I didn't know whether to use that or unsalted butter. I ended up using Bisquick buttermilk pancake mix, self-rising yellow corn meal, and unsalted butter. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this cornbread last year for Thanksgiving (which was held at my home). This year I had soooo many request for me to make this again that I could not say no. I made it, and the funny thing is that everyone ate it before the dinner was even served!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Holy Moly! What a delicious dish! I made this dish for Thanksgiving last year and people gobbled it up and loved it! So sweet and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
The cornbread tastes great. It has good flavor, good consistency, and it is best served warm. Like some of the other reviewers, I am picky with cornbread, but this one simply tasted better than all of the other cornbreads I have tried in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
If you like a sweet cornbread, this is wonderful. It does have a more cake like texture rather than crumbly. I used non-fat milk rather than whole and it came out fine. It is very buttery and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I think there's too much sugar in this recipe. It stuck to the pan pretty badly. I would suggest that you grease and flour the pan very well. Once I got it out of the pan, it was delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Although I changed the recipe somewhat, I am giving this 5 stars based on the texture of the finished product and the versatility of the recipe. I used less sugar, more corn meal, and less butter. Next time I will use even less sugar and more corn meal. I love the cake-like, tender quality; my husband prefers old-fashioned cornbread & said he did not care for this (although I did notice he ate 2 hunks) but I will definitely make it again. I paired it with Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili from this site, and what a great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Really good flavor, but a little too cake like for what I had planned. I served it warm as a desert with a dollop of honey butter on the side. As a dessert it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States