Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Even though I overcooked mine (woops) It was really good! I halved the sugar and added a little frozen corn to the mix. Also used bisquick. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Sooo delicious! So easy and quick. I wasn't sure what buttermilk baking mix was so I used bisquick. Also, note that the recipe serves 15! Thats a lot of cornbread. I halved mine and baked it in a 8 x8 glass dish. It's a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
WOW!!! Changed my world when it comes to cornbread. So sweet and buttery with still that familiar taste of cornmeal to balance it all out. Made this yesterday with plans to serve it at dinner. Decided to try it warm out of the oven and almost couldn't stop myself from eating piece after piece! The only thing I did different from the written recipe is use homemade baking mix. This will definitely be making many repeat appearances in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
A big hit! I did add slightly less sugar than suggested due to other reviews on how sweet it was. Otherwise it's perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Family really enjoyed this one! It was very cake-like and quite crumbly while warm, but they still gobbled it up with the chili we made. Tried it today and have to say it's much better the day after. Perhaps next time I'll make it a few hours before dinner's ready so it has time to set up. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I used Bisquick and subbed milk for the butter, as well as made my normal adjustments for high altitude, and this is hands down the BEST cornbread recipe that I've found yet. Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Sweet, moist, cake-like cornbread that's absolutely fabulous! Plus it's so easy to put together using buttermilk baking mix (a.k.a Bisquick)! I did "tweak" this a bit to get more of a cornbread flavor. I used 2 & 1/2 cups of buttermilk baking mix and 3/4 cup of cornmeal. I do like a sweet cornbread, but I did cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup and it was plenty sweet. I used 1 cup of buttermilk vs. milk and it baked up nice and golden brown in more like 35 minutes. This was oh so buttery and moist served nice and warm. The leftovers are great for breakfast served with jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
My 9 year old has recently discovered that he loves cornbread. He's been eating the box mix, but I didn't have any on hand so I made this recipe instead. He loved it and said to make this instead of the box mix from now on. I think next time I will double the cornmeal though, for me it didn't have enough cornbread taste and texture. As for the buttermilk baking mix, I just used plain Bisquick and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is a sweet and delicious recipe with an almost cake-like texture. I used Bob's Red Mill Whole grain corn flour instead of cornmeal. I too wondered what was meant by buttermilk baking mix. I used Krusteaz buttermilk pancake mix and it turned out well. My batter almost overflowed my pan - this makes a very full 9x13 recipe. I also added 5 minutes to the baking time. (My altitude is 4800 feet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominutah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Hands down this is the best cornbread we've ever had! I ate more cornbread for dinner than I did chili! I love that I had all the ingredients on hand! No more boxed mixes for us! Cant wait to give the rest of the family a taste! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookityPoo

Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States