Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Tastes like cake. We enjoyed it. Hard to eat like normal cornbread because it's so crumbly. But it was great crumbled over chili. I do like more corn flaver in my cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
My husband likes this cornbread so well it's all he ever wants now. It does crumble easily though. I always let it cool down before serving which seems to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Here are the changes I made on this recipe to make it lower in fat & calories (there was no way I could bring myself to use a cup of butter! Yikes!)As another suggested I reduced the baking mix (reduced fat) to 2 1/4 C. and incr. the cornmeal to 1 cup. I decreased the sugar to 3/4 c,substituted Egg Beaters for one of the 3 eggs, and used 1/4 c. melted butter & 1/2 c. Lite sourcream. They were very moist! To make 18 muffins fill "Pam" sprayed cups with 1/4 c. of batter and bake for 18-20 min. These were fantastic fresh out of the oven, and I'm anxious to see if they're even better tomorrow with my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Very tasty! my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
This is a great recipe. I used Hungry Jack buttermilk pancake mix. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Excellent recipe - my family couldn not stop raving about this cornbread. Instead of "buttermilk baking mix", I used "buttermilk biscuit mix" - which is probably the same thing. I also used margarine instead of butter (because I had it on hand), and the cooking time was almost 1 hour! (And I have a convection oven) - I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I was very skeptical about the pancake mix in this. But I had all the ingredients on hand and decided to try it...I'm glad I did! Absolutely delicious, great texture, no "chalkiness" like you can get sometimes with cornbread. Nice and sweet, but not too sweet. I guess the pancake mix is the secret! Thank you for sharing the recipe Shelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I had to come back and give this recipe a WOW.. I made this to go with a batch of New Year's style black eyed peas and my family gobbled it up with rave reviews. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it came out phenomenal. This will be my cornbread recipe from now on. If you like a more "corny" cornbread I would swap some cornmeal for some of the bisquick mix, but this is a GREAT recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This is one of the best cornbread recipies that I have found. It is very moist and my family likes it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States