Waffles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I think this recipe is wonderful. I am a professional pastry chef and I have had a hard time finding a waffle that is versitle and can be tweeked to do what I want it to without someone screwing it up at the restaurant. I can add anything to this recipe and it still comes out wonderful. The best seller is when we add apple pie filling about 1/2 cup and 1 tbs. of cinnamon. Top with some more warm pie filling and homemade maple syrup! A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerman_scebbi

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This is EXACTLY the recipe I was looking for when I bought my new waffle maker!!! Better than the restaurant I used to beg my hubby to take me to just so I could get a belgian waffle. I added 2tsp of vanilla, 2-3 TBS. of sugar, 1 tsp of cinnamon and used 3/4 c milk and 3/4 c buttermilk. YUMMMMM. Perfect each time!! Family loves them too, but I'm the waffle freak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
The only recipe better than this is my Grandma's and that calls for butter and buttermilk which I didn't have on hand today, which is why I tried this. Very simple ingredients that produce a yummy waffle. I did add about 2-3 T sugar and about 2-3 t vanilla to sweeten it up a bit. I also added about 1 -1 1/2 cups frozen blueberries. My daughter and her friend loved them. This recipe does make more than 4 servings in my opinion. I got about 7 6 in round waffles out of it and they are very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
FINALLY!!! A waffle recipe worth hanging onto. These were wonderful. I made as directed, except used others recommendations and added 2 Tbsp. of sugar (don't like mine too sweet, especially since I'm using pure maple syrup on top), 1 tsp. cinnamon, and 2 tsp. vanilla. In place of the milk, I used 1/2 buttermilk and 1/2 regular milk. They cooked up nice and light, not thick and chewy like the waffles I usually make. I was able to get approximately 7 - 7" waffles, plenty to freeze the extras. Thanks for a great recipe, Karen! (BTW, be sure to give your waffle maker a quick spray of oil before pouring each waffle).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I liked that this recipe omitted sugar. I'm one who usually omits sugar from waffles if I can get away with it. I followed the recipe exact. This recipe turned out a nice waffle, crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside. I'd make this again but I would up the salt a little and add a touch of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Easy basic recipe for waffles. I used 1/2 c. of whole wheat flour and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Very good recipe but it needs sugar, a little more salt, vannilla, and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I am pregnant and was craving chocolate chip waffles like you wouldn't believe. I have always been afraid to try my own waffle batter but I was out of my mix. I made with apple sauce instead of oil to make it healthier and it was still wonderful! Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
After a recent disaster with a commercial pancake mix making waffles, I was determined to find a recipe that used beaten egg whites which was an ingredient I remembered from my childhood. This recipe was easy, both in preparation and ingredients. The waffles turned out great. Light & crisp. Worth the little extra effort to whip the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
After visiting my mom for Thanksgiving I brought her waffle iron home with me. This was the first recipe I tried and my husband and I were both pleased with it. Nice fluffy waffles. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States