Waffles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is the best waffle recipe I've come across. I've made it a number of times and my family loves it. I've found that I need to increase the milk to 2 or 2-1/2 cups to get the batter to a pourable consistency, and I add a tsp or so of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This is great mix. Going try it, let you know later if I use, will use, it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eulah richardson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
We love this recipe! One time I was out of oil and substituted melted butter for the oil if you like a buttery taste! My kids love it and since they are so active it was okay for me to add the butter! Yum! Yum! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Fluffy and delicious. They are very full feeling. I added some vanilla and sugar to the batter for a little kick :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was the type of waffle recipe I was looking for, with egg whites beaten separately. I made it in a Belgian waffle maker. Does not need sugar added! The only thing I changed was to use 1 cup of whole wheat pastry flour for 1 cup of the all-purpose flour. I did need to add about 1/4 cup more milk, maybe it was too thick because of the substituted whole wheat flour. Next time I might try adding a little flax seed, too. I did not need to spray my non-stick waffle maker- they popped out beautifully. Most non-stick doesn't need to be sprayed, the spray will just turn into a gummy film eventually. Thanks for the recipe! Update 2/14/15: I made these for overnight guests today and added a little flax seed. They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I used holiday custard milk and everyone likes it! I substituted organic coconut oil melted for vegetable oil also! Waffles where crisp, light and favorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Just add a little vanilla and you have a great, simple waffle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly to give true rating. I thought they were very good but maybe a little thick. I did like how much batter the recipe made and will definitely use this again, next time I will play with other ingredients in the recipe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Wonderful texture! Will never have to buy waffle mix again! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I made these last Saturday morning as an on-the-fly decision and was pleasantly surprised. I usually make a yeast waffle, but didn't plan ahead Friday night, so I needed something that would be ready quickly to feed a whole gaggle of hungry kids. I tripled this recipe but used almond milk (my kids are lactose-intolerant so I use almond milk in 90% of my baking) and naturally white whole wheat flour instead without adjusting the recipe proportions at all. That was probably a mistake. :) I ended up putting in a bit of vanilla extract and some more milk at the end to thin out the batter a little bit right before putting them into the waffle-maker and add some flavor. That was my second mistake. My family ended up referring to these as the "lack-luster waffles" but I wholeheartedly believe that was due to using sub-par vegetable oil left over from a fish-fry (at least it hadn't been used :P), not adjusting the proportions of my ingredients when using the whole wheat flour, and messing with the batter after folding in the peaked egg whites. That's why I still rated the recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States