Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
5+++++ I love this recipe. I made some healthy substitutions and it turned out yummy for me. I used whole wheat flour, splenda, and apple sauce in lieu of the oil. I also added about 1 tsp of brown sugar and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon as others have recommended. I followed another users recommendation to seperate the whites from the eggs (beated until fluffy) and folded them into the batter as the final step--turned out nice and fluffy. I served these plain with the cinnamon butter recipe. Also, you can freeze left-overs (if any) in plastic baggies to be taken out at a later time to be quickly reheated in the toaster. 5-star plus--thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1918 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
A well above par recipie, crispy and light. If you have a spare minute beat the egg whites separate, then fold them in at the last, not vital but you will not regret it. I also doubled the vanilla and sugar, but the waffles seemed a bit bland still, relying on butter/syrup to bring most of the flavor. A good active-yeast recipe will taste better, but are generally more dense. Also be sure to USE BAKING POWDER, NOT SODA, then the 4 teaspoons called for is perfect, if you put in 4 tsp of soda you'll never have heartburn again... Bottom line, these waffles are well worth making. Simple, light and almost 5 star good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This is a great, basic, easy waffle. My waffle iron sat unused for--literally--10 years. Wanted to try something new this morning with basic ingredients that I knew I had in the kitchen. The first waffle didn't turn out because I didn't use enough batter--my waffle iron needed about 2/3 cup each--but after that they were perfect. For those new to waffle-making, here is a good tip I have used to know when they are done without having to open the iron constantly to look (which can ruin the waffle if it is still soft)... It's done when the waffle quits ejecting plumes of steam around the edges of the iron. (It's also usually done when it quits sticking to the iron.) Will definitely make these again -- probably tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1005 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I will never use another waffle recipe again! I put all the ingredients into a blender to mix and baked beautiful, light and crisp waffles. I even used all whole wheat flour, and they were still light and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
HALF THE CALORIES, NO BRAINER!! These waffles are good BUT...I made easy changes to make HUGE improvements to the nutritional value. Instead of 2 eggs I used 3 egg whites and I used skim milk made into buttermilk instead of 2% milk (just add 1-1/2T lemon juice and let sit for 5 minutes). In place of ½ cup of oil I used fat-free vanilla yogurt. I agree with other reviews that the recipe as written is a little bland so instead of 1 tbsp white sugar I used ¼ cup Splenda. I also used 2 tsp of vanilla and about a heaping tsp cinnamon. I can feel GOOD about serving a 195 calorie waffle as opposed to a 400 calorie waffle - especially when my picky husband can't tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDOUGLAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Good recipe, especially because I could make it the night before. I changed it slightly, separating the eggs and whipping the whites until they were light and fluffy before I mixed in the rest of the ingredients. I also doubled the sugar and vanilla, as was suggested, and added a sprinkling of cinnamon and nutmeg. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
These are GREAT waffles. My kids and husband loved them. They are nice and light and taste good. EASY to make. About the review that said they have to much baking soda--oops. The recipe calls for baking POWDER and if you use Rumford brand there is no bad flavor at all (it's healthier too). Just a heads up for those who might not try the recipe based on that review. This is my new waffle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Fantastic!!! Hard to find such a fluffy light recipe using whole wheat flour but this is it! I cut oil in half to 1/4 cup, used whole wheat flour instead of white, doubled vanilla, added a sprinkle of cinnamon. I have started to use melted butter for the oil, very good, everyone says they are the best waffles ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
As is, this is a really good spot on recipe. Easy to make and enjoyable to eat. However, with a few modifications it melts in your mouth! Here are the modifications that I made and yes, this will be redundant because so many other reviewers have done the same thing, AND with good reason! Yum Yum! Sugar changed 2 tablespoon brown sugar AND 2 tablespoon white sugar vanilla extract changed 1 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract Added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon did not want to overpower the flavor of the waffles themselves. The other changes I did were on the building... The eggs and how they are incorporated.. and yes, again this is redundant because sooo many others have said the same thing and it works to make them light and delicious! seperate the eggs... put the whites in the blender and whip them till they start forming the fluffy whites... then add the yolks on low... then i added the milk, then the vegetable oil allowing to mix before adding the vanilla and all the dry goods (mix them before hand in another bowl). This helped produce a light waffle that really melted in my mouth YUM! I will post a pict later of how they turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Kwiecinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Suring, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I made this recipe in my blender. It was so good. I sprayed my waffle iron with non-stick cooking spray and had no problem popping the waffles off. What we didn't eat, I wrapped in waxed paper and stored in a freezer bag for toasting during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GATECHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States