Waffle Iron Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
These are really good, but I would agree that they are more cake-like than brownie-ish. Kind of like a flat, warm cupcake! We had ours with vanilla ice cream and Sue's Homemade Hot Fudge sauce. Yum! We tried varying degrees of done-ness, and the slightly gooey center was the universal favorite, so keep a close eye on the waffle iron! I can't wait to bust this one out for company. (I think I'm going to try the Cinnamon Ice Cream recipe here with it, too. MMMMmmm....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I'll be honest. I'm not one to give out negative comments. If a recipe is not to my liking, I'll tweak it a little bit. The batter is way too heavy, even though I added a few more tablespoons of water to it. My waffle iron did not want to lie flat because the batter was so thick and when I pressed the lid down, it was still so thick, that it did not encompass the whole iron surface. The consistency of the batter before cooking resembles that of a brownie but, that's where it ends. These waffles are like eating chocolate bricks. I didn't realize that their were other listed recipes for "chocolate waffles". I will try those. They seem to looks lighter, having leavening agents/ more ingredients. Sorry, they were pretty bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Interesting recipe. Since I read the reviews before mixing the batter.. I added a verrry ripe smallish banana to the mix .. kept them moister I think. Then near the end.. I got a little crazed and added maraschino cherry juice to the last two rounds worth of batter.. and Voila!! a Chewy Brownie ! :) Thanks for posting a fun recipe. We will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimmie T.
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Ok..think of these as "Chocolate Waffles", not brownies, and you're ok. My family ate them several different ways, and we all loved them. I spinkled powdered sugar on top, my husband topped his with strawberry jam, and my kids ate them al la mode. Either way, they were a hit. Not too sweet by themselves, but in my opionion, that made them better, because we could all find our own individual way to eat them. Oh..as an added bonus, they were extremely easy to make, and even easier to clean up, considering you only use one pot and your waffle iron! Definatly a make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I followed it to the t, and loved it. Watch it to make sure it doesn't overcook... and any leftovers get hard fast (you can microwave, but they're not the same). Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
wow this turned out better than i could have imagined. i even added some caramel while it was in the waffle iron and then put ice cream on top. sooo gooooood!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
My boyfriend especially loved this recipe. It only made 6 waffles for me. Of course, they are a more dry brownie due to the nature of how they are cooked. My boyfriend said they were better on the second day. I added mini-chocolate chips and a few chopped pecans to the recipe - Also-- I served mine hot in a bowl right off the griddle with two scoops of vanilla ice cream and then smothered with hot fudge sauce. It was very easy and delicious. I will make them again and again. Especially for company. It was a fast and easy clean up desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
These had a very good taste, but I prefer a chewy and moist brownie. These were very cake-like and a little dry. But I liked the fact they were different and cool looking. I'll bet they would be good with ice-cream and hot fudge sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
very easy and quick recipe and it tastes good two
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
They were pretty good. Definitely more cakelike than anything. Not super chocolatly either, but I'm a total chocohalic and probably a chocolate bar isnt super choclaty to me XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States