Waffle Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by 5boys2cook4
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I've been making these cookies for years. I've never added nuts to mine. I also add more cocoa, probably close to 3/4 cup. I use a large family size waffle iron (not belgian) and drop one tablespoon full onto each section to cook. I always make a chocolate glaze, sometimes with mint, and after the cookies have cooled, I dip the tops in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5boys2cook4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This is my all-time favorite cookie!! I am always getting requests for them... they are "my signature cookies". My recipe is different only that I use 2 eggs instead of 4, so if you are short of eggs...I'm telling you they turn out awesome with 1/2 the eggs. I let them cool and top with a dollop of chocolate frosting - boil 6TB butter, 3/4 c sugar, 1/3 c milk for a minute, remove from heat and add 3/4 c chocolate chips, stir until thickened. You must try these cookies!!! Update for those having trouble getting the cookies off the waffle iron...you might want to give your waffle iron a spray of Pam before you drop the cookies on, after you make them a couple of times you won't need that. Also, I use a Pampered Chef cookie scoop and drop into each compartment. Have never put chocolate chips or nuts in them, I wouldn't suggest it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is an awesome way to make cookies!!! I really liked these, easy to make and wonderful flavor. I did add caramel chips, and walnuts. My kids rated these 5 stars, my husband says 4, I gave these 5 due to ease and flavor. I took these to a ladies bible study and they went over well. I will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosamond, California, USA
Living In: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I have made these cookies for years. However, I use 1/2 cup softened butter and 1/2 cup crisco and I omit the nuts. I chill the dough and it seems to work better - cooking for about 2 1/2 minutes each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I was not impressed with this cookie. It was dry and lacked flavor. Maybe this would be a good breakfast waffle with fruit but as a cookie it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Scaled down to 6 (we made 8), perfect and easy cookies for two. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I've made these several times, ALWAYS a hit! Simple to make. I too would recommend a quick spray to the waffle iron with Pam before dropping them, worked like a charm. After coming off the iron, I drizzled them with a simple confectioner's sugar & milk icing and they were even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Did not care for the texture of these cookies. Not crispy at all. Kiddies were highly anticipating these and were left wanting. Sorry, will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Followed the recipe completely but did not like these at all. It was a mess to work with and hard to get off the waffle iron. The dough is like brownie mix and thick. We ended up breaking them up in small pieces and putting vanilla ice cream on top to use them up. I thought the grandchildren would think this was fun to do but I won't make again. I will make brownies instead as it is a lot less messy and much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Very nice will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knocknacarra, County Galway, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States