Wacky Mac Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was a great alternative to regular tomato based meat sauce. I added a little red bell pepper and left out the spice, onions and corn. I also used half the ground beef and a 15 oz can of turkey chili. I added about a half can of water to the "sauce" for moisture. I also added about a half cup of shredded cheddar cheese, and put some on the table to sprinkle on more. The kids were skeptical, but won over. So quick and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I scaled this down to three and we have enough for left overs. I omitted the salt and green pepper, added a 14 oz can tomato sauce, only put in 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper and all chili powder and it is too spicy for us. I also used fresh freezer corn. Also used mini bow ties because I was out of wagon wheels. My hubby wanted to know if we had sour cream, but he likes everything creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Cearley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I took others advice and added a can of diced tomatoes with onion and garlic to give it a little more sauce. I also added garlic and cilantro. I did not add the corn, but served it with corn bread. I only used 8 oz of pasta, 16 oz was just over the top. I also substituted frozen mixed peppers for the green pepper. I really enjoyed this as an alternative to regular old chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
We thought too dry (and I even added 1/2 can tomato soup and 1 c. water). We only added 1 t. each of cayenne pepper and chili powder and a little spicy for us. We used chili w/ just beans. If using some w/ meat, watch the meat portions because of adding the ground beef. Noone liked it enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Cass Lewandowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Pretty good recipe. I left the corn out and would probably only use a dash of cayenne pepper because I don't like spicy food (my sister said the same thing). There was SO much food - more than I expected so we had lots of leftovers. I sprinkled cheese on my food which made it taste great. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Well, I ended up not having Chili with beans, so I added two cans of chili ready diced tomatoes and black beans. I used frozen corn instead of canned. I also added fresh garlic to the hamburger. It turned out good. It was still a bit dry, so I might add a can of tomato sauce to what is left. This makes a large batch, lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This was great - made it according to recipe - didn't change anything. It makes a LOT, which for our family of 5 is great. I used Hot Hormel Chili with Beans. We kept leftovers covered and didn't think they were too dry, but maybe I'll experiment next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This is missing something... can't quite figure out what that would be. Maybe some type of sauce would help, or adding some grated cheese. It's bland, even with the chili and spices. I added stewed tomatoes while cooking, but that didn't help much. My husband felt the same way about this recipe. It's filling though, and makes a lot. We will eat it leftover, but I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Very good and easy to make. I was worried about the cayenne making this too spicy so I cut it in half - although I later found that by using mild chili = it covers it up pretty well and next time, I may use the full amt. I used mild chili (one can w/ beans, one can w/out making 30oz total). THIS MAKES ALOT!! My boyfriend came home for lunch and wondered who all I was cooking for :)!! Finally, I added some cheese to melt over my serving but my boyfriend and daughter liked it as it was. NOTE: I think this could use an 8oz can of tomato sauce to ensure that this doesn't get dried out! Leftovers were pretty dry - some tom. sauce might remedy that but overall - a tasty & easy - great when your in a time crunch for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This recipe was simple and easy. I used chili beans without the meat sauce. It was still very, very good! I also added salsa to it while cooking. Nice and easy and delicious! -Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States