Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Delicious and easy cake! I only make this recipe now- I sometimes omit the cocoa for a plain white cake or add some grated/chopped apples and cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves for an apple spice version. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I'm making this in the form of cupcakes for my daughter's 1st birthday party. She is allergic to milk and eggs. So this is perfect! I did a trial run last night and these taste just like regular cake to me and my husband. Not so with some other recipes I've been trying... The recipe makes about 15 cupcakes. They baked for 25 min at 375. Came out just perfect. I used Pillsbury's cream cheese icing to frost them. It's milk and egg free too. Who would have thought? Thanks so much for this recipe. I'm sure it will be a hit this weekend!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Oh my goodness!! This recipe is amazing. I couldn't find my wacky cake recipe, so I went online to see what I could find. BETTER then the recipe I used to use. This is definately a keeper. MANY MANY comliments. Made this cake for my mom's birthday. You have to make this cake with an almond extract icing. Icing sugar, margerine, a little milk and some almond extract. Make the icing first, then add a little almond extract at a time until desired taste is reached. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was EXCELLENT! I used a gluten free flour blend and added 1 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum....perfect! I've been going crazy trying to come up with a tasty birthday cake recipe for my son with multiple food allergies....this was perfect! I used the One Minute Chocolate Icing recipe from this site, and the entire family loves it! I have also doubled this, put into a Wilton character pan (greased and floured) and had great results as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This is the one my mom makes and I was happy to find it here. I made it today for an after dinner treat but it didn't make it that long. Too yummy! I have never had it with any frosting of sort so I decided to top it with a thin chocolate icing used on "Texas Cake" and it was mouth watering. WARNING, if you make this cake, as I learned long ago, DO NOT OVER MIX the batter. It just needs to be blended and it's ready for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is moist and great. I put 1/2 cup water 1/2 cup brewed coffee instead of 1 cup of water and it's even more chocolaty. I ice this with the icing from a Texas sheet cake (you cook it and pour it on hot and let it set up). Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very good recipe! I mix it all up in a bowl first and then pour it into a greased pan. Also made a glaze with 2 Tbsp. butter, 3-4 Tbsp. cocoa powder, 3/4 cup powdered sugar and 3Tbsp hot water. Melted the butter, added the cocoa and then the powdered sugar. Added the hot water to smooth it out. Pour on warm cake and let cool. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I've loved this cake for years. Trust me, nothing needs to be changed. Wacky cake is delicious with a Almond extract icing. Icing sugar, butter/margerine, milk and the extract to taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tseen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I had my doubts about this cake- no eggs or dairy?? But I made it for a friend's birthday with the White Fluffy Frosting from this website. She was on an iodine-free diet for cancer treatment and so excited to have cake on her birthday. I took my first bite nervously, but it was actually delicious!!! The combination of the frosting (which tasted marshmallow-ey) and the chocolatey cake ended up tasting like a sophisticated moon pie!! The cake was very moist, and the frosting went well with it. I would consider making this again for a birthday cake. I made two 8-inch cakes and turned it into a layer cake. Yum. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thecakemaven
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
My vegan friends LOVED this cake. It baked up moist and tasty. It is also sturdy enough that you can cut it into a shape (I made it a heart) without it crumbling to bits as so many eggless cakes do. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States