Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I just want to add my raves for this recipe. It is the first chocolate cake recipe given to me by a friend when I was a newlywed over 40 years ago. My husband and I loved it then for its deliciousness and its size (just right for 2), and the whole family loves it now for its taste, its moistness, and its ease of making with the kids. It doubles great, so am making it for a crowd today. We usually ate it without frosting, because it's so moist and yummy on its own - and we're not big frosting eaters. So glad to find it online, as I haven't made it for a while and have no time to scrounge for the piece of paper I wrote it on years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
ok.. this recipe is a life saver and very forgiving (forgot to sift the ingredients). Quick and easy. It has become a favorite at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
for the ease and minimal ingredients, a great go-to recipe! moist and dark and entirely satisfying. i sprinkled a big handful of semi-sweet choc chips over the top and swirled a bit to incorporate. they turn into melty pockets of chocolately goodness. i also subbed half the oil with mashed bananas, did half whole-wheat flour, and half splenda. it made me feel less guilty about eating nearly half the pan within half an hour. also used cold coffee instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Pretty good. Made this with almond icing. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
The recipe is wonderful! If you were like me you are probably wondering how there are so many great reviews for a cake without eggs, milk, or butter. Just give it a try! It is VERY moist, maybe a bit too moist for people who like their cake firm, but if you aren't particular, you will LOVE this recipe. My dad was skeptical until I gave him a piece (I made some simple coconut icing) and he said it was amazing! Not to mention it is probably the easiest cake I've ever made. I will definitely be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyStardust09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I found this recipe in a "favorite Recipes of Home Economics Teachers" from 1963. It makes sense to hear that originally it came from a depression era source. I use a fudge frosting on it. My grandkids beg for more when they finish one cake! It's great with vanilla ice cream. Strange how so few ingredients can taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This easily rivals my regular chocolate cake recipe and without the need for eggs, milk, and butter! Cake was just the right moistness and density, came out perfect...really impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frog_Prince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love this recipe! My family always made this when I was little and this recipe tastes as good as I remember. Don't forget to have fun with some simple stencils or doilies. After my daughters and I made the cake, I cut out a stencil of their initials and sifted powdered sugar on top. Simple, but it made some smiles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Delicious and easy cake! I only make this recipe now- I sometimes omit the cocoa for a plain white cake or add some grated/chopped apples and cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves for an apple spice version. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Awesome recipe! We are trying to go dairy & egg free, so this was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States