Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This cake is moist, dense, and flavorful, my whole family including my cake-critic husband LOVED it. When I first made the cake, I omitted the cocoa to make a white cake and it was great. I think it would work well as an all-purpose cake recipe where you could add flavors as desired (cocoa, spices, almond, etc). I also think it would work well as a substitute pound cake since it is so moist and dense - but doesn't have all that butter. We are using this instead of boxed cakes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This cake is by far the BEST plain-old chocolate cake ever! It is moist & dense & even better when aged a day or 2. Easy to dress up with a handful of chocolate chips or dried fruit, and bake in a fluted pan. I usually make with white vinegar instead of cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
The only problem was that I accidentally overcooked mine so it was a bit dry. I put in a toothpick and it came out wet so I decided to wait a tiny bit longer. Max 4 minutes longer. Somehow that was too long! Strange. This recipe is also very good if you add some dry cherries in. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi_in_Toronto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is the only cake recipe I use now! This cake is great for those with food allergies, and is also suitable for vegans. This cake is absolutely amazing as is, but I have also tried many variations with great success; gluten free (rice flour/potato starch & Xanthan gum), I've made it mocha by substituting coffee for water, and I've also done a vanilla version (by omitting cocoa powder) topped with mini chocolate chips and coconut before baking- this one was a favorite! Thanks for such a great, and versatile recipe for those on strict diets & and those who are not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Just like my mom's recipe! It was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I give this recipe 5 stars because for the ease of making, great taste and texture, you just can't beat it! My mom always made this when I was a kid. She would sprinkle confectioner's sugar on and that is how I serve it, as well. I made the 9x13 version today and cut it into squares and froze it for quick snacks for my children. Next time, I am going to bake cupcakes to freeze so that I can pop them in their lunchboxes for special treats. I love that you can mix this in the pan, that it is very inexpensive to make, and most of all, that it really tastes fantastic. There is no reason for me to buy a boxed mix again! This is just as good and is fine for kid's birthday cakes. I made a couple of substitutions: I bake with a mixture of 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 wheat flour. I also used 1/2 milk and 1/2 water to make it more nutritious. I have never tried it with the coffee, but plan to try that sometime. I think with coffee as the liquid and a rich frosting, this would also be fine as a grown-up dessert for company. LOVE this recipe! (Also thinking it could be scaled down to be a "cake in a cup" recipe for the microwave...although it's so easy it's worth just making it as is!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I wasn't sure about this cake to begin with, but a friend told me about it so I gave it a try. What a delicious cake! Moist and chocolatey, oh so yummy. And I topped it off with an almond glaze. My mother in law loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little.mrs.h

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is the exact recipe my mom gave me for wacky cake. The same cake we had in school during the 60's. My mom worked for the Newport Mesa School district in the kitchens and that is where she got recipe from. One of the attributes of this cake (and the reason it was called wacky cake) is because any time during the baking you can remove it from the oven, bake something else, then replace it back to finish cooking and it does not change or hurt the finished product at all. This is what my mother told me. True? I assume so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRIDINGER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Amazing!!! I needed a recipe for my sons school as there are egg allergies and WOW this is great. Think I'm going to start making this instead of my reg chocolate cake!!! I didn't add oil instead I used apple sauce and added some chocolate chips!!!!!!!!! Amazing Thanks sooooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This cake is hands down the best homemade chocolate cake I have ever baked! Beats any boxed variety or recipe, including those made with butter and eggs! I made two of these today. The first I followed the recipe exactly except I used distilled white vinegar instead of cidar. I was reluctant to follow the steps and just beat everything together in a bowl, but I didn't and followed the directions and I'm glad I did. This recipe requires VERY little mixing. Over mixing will result in a less airy cake. Don't mess it up! I frosted this cake with the frosting found on a texas sheet cake recipe from this site, per another reviewer. AWESOME COMBO! The second cake I made, I omitted the cocoa and oil, and instead used 2 mashed ripe bananas in their place and about 1/2 tsp. allspice. I sprinkled the batter with walnuts before baking. Absolutely fantastic! Thanks for the recipe, I don't think I could ever go back to a boxed cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States