Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Need to experiment with it... good, but not enough flavor... will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
What can I say but "Delish"! I doubled the recipe, used a 9x13 pan and finished it off with "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" from this site.(I ran out of confectionary sugar to make my usual frosting.) I also mixed all the dry ingredients and added them to the wet ingredients using separate bowls. I brought it to my bible study group and the young boys were fighting over the crumbs that were left in the pan! This is an easy fabulous cake. I was asked to make this again. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
very good! i had to use regular white vinegar because i didnt have any apple cider vinegar, but the cake was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I have been eyeing this recipe for a long time and have decided to finally make it this morning. Without reading the instructions first, I asked my 2.5 year old if he wanted a 'Schokokuchen' or 'Schokomuffins' and he opted for the latter. I did the measuring and he did the stirring. I used what I had on hand, that is, white distilled vinegar for cider vinegar, and sunflower oil for vegetable oil. The batter tasted a bit sour but the end result was perfect. Not too sweet and just the right amount of cocoa. I evenly divided the batter into 12 silicon lined muffin cups and baked for about 20 minutes or so. I let them cool a bit before popping them out of the silicon cups. They were a huge hit with my two small boys!! They turned out fluffy and moist. I wonder how they would taste with raspberry or strawberry jam injected in the center and topped with a vanilla mascarpone frosting on top. I admit that I usually have a hard time finding a good chocolate/cocoa recipe, but this is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is definitely better the second day. I had a piece when I first made the cake and was NOT impressed. Tasted like it was missing something. But the second day it was very good -- moist and flavorful. My adult son really likes it. I sprinkled cinnamon on top, then powdered sugar. I'll make this again, for sure -- but a day ahead of when I want to eat it! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I love this cake and I have already made it twice in about 2 weeks. The only thing I did different was add about 1 to 2 tablespoons of herseys liquid syrup to the mixture...So moist and Good!! Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I was excited about this recipe because it is so simple and cheap and people seem to love it! Just perfect for what I'm looking for since I bake cakes to sell here in Central America. I wanted to make a kind of chocolate cake (real chocolate is so expensive here) and the ingredients seemed so perfect. But unfortunately I was not so happy with the result. It did rise very nicely but I found the taste rather bland. It lacked a lot of sweetness and chocolate flavour for me. I think I will try this recipe again but changing it up a lot, for example add banana, like one reviewer suggested. I think that would make it much nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Excellent cake! I also use this recipe for muffins sometimes adding a ripe banana or 2 to it and have recently tried it minus the cocoa but with grated apple and cinnamon. It stays very moist and delicious for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delicious! Made a single layer heart shaped cake with PB icing. Hubby loved it. Next time maybe more chocolate or 1/2 coffee to enhance the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very good recipe! I mix it all up in a bowl first and then pour it into a greased pan. Also made a glaze with 2 Tbsp. butter, 3-4 Tbsp. cocoa powder, 3/4 cup powdered sugar and 3Tbsp hot water. Melted the butter, added the cocoa and then the powdered sugar. Added the hot water to smooth it out. Pour on warm cake and let cool. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States