Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
My mom made this cake often when I was growing up and it's great to find it here. The recipe is only slightly different from my mom's. She used only 5 tablespoons of oil and she used white vinegar rather than cider vinegar. We usually serve this cake warm, with peppermint frosting. My mom described the history of the recipe slightly differently. She's a vet from WWII and explained that the cake was named Wacky Cake in honour of the WAC (women's air corps) women who developed the recipe. Milk and eggs were scarce during the war.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Best.cake.Eva!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAUGHN76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Grew up with this cake. Love it. Also, it's one of those cakes that doesn't need any frosting. It is so moist that it's better without. We make a vanilla version of this also by omitting the cocoa and doubling the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Perfect as is! I tried it with some of my leftover homemade frosting. The cake brought back so many memories of when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I was low on ingredients and wanted a good dessert so I thought I'd give this a try. I didn't have cider vinegar, so I used regular white vinegar and per other reviewers I made it with coffee instead of plain of water. I've also made it per the recipe, and either way it was great. I was so surprised. I baked it in an 8 inch round pan and then iced it with the creamy chocolate frosting from this site. It made for a really rich, decadent, and most importantly EASY dessert. This is now my family's favorite cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
One of the most delicious and moist chocolate cakes I have ever tasted! I decided to make this after reading the other reviews, and I just have to add my own 5-star review to this one. Easy to make, minimal cleanup (just the pan and a fork), and delicious. I brought this to work and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious! I make this all the time. It is my go to recipe for a quick dessert. I pour texas sheet cake icing over it while it's warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I have made this several times, and this time, I decided to eliminate the cocoa. I used milk as the liquid, although I have used coffee when making the chocolate version. It's so versatile, cheap and easy. Especially the vanilla version would be great with fruit of any kind: for example, drained crushed pineapple, using pineapple juice for the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Need to experiment with it... good, but not enough flavor... will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
What can I say but "Delish"! I doubled the recipe, used a 9x13 pan and finished it off with "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" from this site.(I ran out of confectionary sugar to make my usual frosting.) I also mixed all the dry ingredients and added them to the wet ingredients using separate bowls. I brought it to my bible study group and the young boys were fighting over the crumbs that were left in the pan! This is an easy fabulous cake. I was asked to make this again. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States