Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious! I make this all the time. It is my go to recipe for a quick dessert. I pour texas sheet cake icing over it while it's warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I have made this several times, and this time, I decided to eliminate the cocoa. I used milk as the liquid, although I have used coffee when making the chocolate version. It's so versatile, cheap and easy. Especially the vanilla version would be great with fruit of any kind: for example, drained crushed pineapple, using pineapple juice for the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Need to experiment with it... good, but not enough flavor... will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
What can I say but "Delish"! I doubled the recipe, used a 9x13 pan and finished it off with "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" from this site.(I ran out of confectionary sugar to make my usual frosting.) I also mixed all the dry ingredients and added them to the wet ingredients using separate bowls. I brought it to my bible study group and the young boys were fighting over the crumbs that were left in the pan! This is an easy fabulous cake. I was asked to make this again. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
very good! i had to use regular white vinegar because i didnt have any apple cider vinegar, but the cake was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I have been eyeing this recipe for a long time and have decided to finally make it this morning. Without reading the instructions first, I asked my 2.5 year old if he wanted a 'Schokokuchen' or 'Schokomuffins' and he opted for the latter. I did the measuring and he did the stirring. I used what I had on hand, that is, white distilled vinegar for cider vinegar, and sunflower oil for vegetable oil. The batter tasted a bit sour but the end result was perfect. Not too sweet and just the right amount of cocoa. I evenly divided the batter into 12 silicon lined muffin cups and baked for about 20 minutes or so. I let them cool a bit before popping them out of the silicon cups. They were a huge hit with my two small boys!! They turned out fluffy and moist. I wonder how they would taste with raspberry or strawberry jam injected in the center and topped with a vanilla mascarpone frosting on top. I admit that I usually have a hard time finding a good chocolate/cocoa recipe, but this is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is definitely better the second day. I had a piece when I first made the cake and was NOT impressed. Tasted like it was missing something. But the second day it was very good -- moist and flavorful. My adult son really likes it. I sprinkled cinnamon on top, then powdered sugar. I'll make this again, for sure -- but a day ahead of when I want to eat it! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Photo by Diane Marie
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I love this cake and I have already made it twice in about 2 weeks. The only thing I did different was add about 1 to 2 tablespoons of herseys liquid syrup to the mixture...So moist and Good!! Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I was excited about this recipe because it is so simple and cheap and people seem to love it! Just perfect for what I'm looking for since I bake cakes to sell here in Central America. I wanted to make a kind of chocolate cake (real chocolate is so expensive here) and the ingredients seemed so perfect. But unfortunately I was not so happy with the result. It did rise very nicely but I found the taste rather bland. It lacked a lot of sweetness and chocolate flavour for me. I think I will try this recipe again but changing it up a lot, for example add banana, like one reviewer suggested. I think that would make it much nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Excellent cake! I also use this recipe for muffins sometimes adding a ripe banana or 2 to it and have recently tried it minus the cocoa but with grated apple and cinnamon. It stays very moist and delicious for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States