Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by aleemas
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I absolutely loved your recipe, made it a dozen time already....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
It didn't rise at all, tasted like CARDBOARD and glue. I followed this recipe exactly except for the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Jeter-Minick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
My mother made this cake almost every Sunday evening for desert during WWII and it became the family favorite. I have had to make copies of the recipe for all daughters in law and granddaughters as well as several friends. They can't believe the ease of mixing it and lack of normal ingredients. We usually ate it warm right out of the oven with "oleo" on it. She also had a spice cake recipe that called for dark syrup instead of sugar for sweetner. Sugar was rationed. There was no crisco, either. It is quite moist also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Simple .. foolproof .. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Oh my gosh, this is so good.. my husband & family used to make wakey cake alot when we were young in the 70's. I lost that recipe twice..so glad it was here. I was trying to make something for dessert & ran out of eggs.the almond extract is an awwesome change. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Excellent and easy-remember science class when making a volcano erupt with baking soda and vinegar!! It appears to make this cake light and airy. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I was disappointed in this recipe. It didn't rise and I felt that the apple cider vinegar came through too much. The taste is okay but the vinegar smell nearly ruins it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Erwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Fabulous!! I added a heaping teaspoon of espresso powder, mixed all the wet ingredients together then added to dry and sprinkled chopped up semi sweet chocolate on top before baking. Cake was done in 30 minutes. Never would I have guessed that the result was eggless. The cake is super moist and the extra chocolate made frosting unnecessary. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I'm giving the recipe 5 stars not because it's the best tasting cake I've ever had, but because it's the easiest. It's the easiest to make, to alter (I've made just about every flavor you can think of)and everyone who's had it has raved. Sure, you could make something more elaborate, but for someone without a lot of time, it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
. Having the pan greased and the oven ready is crucial. You want to mix the dry ingrediants in one bowl, and the wet in another. Mix the wet to the dry until combined, pour into the baking pan and get in the oven. You don't want to tap the pan to get the bubbles out as I remember doing with box mixes. I also put the cocoa powder through a sieve to get out the lumps. This is a great mix to put the dry ingredient together in advance and keep in a ziploc bag. Just put on a label for the wet ingrediants and it's so quick to make for an unexpected occasion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States